Just When You Least Expect It

10 Apr

Just as you’re getting cozy at 11pm on a Friday night, you’re boss may call and tell you that you need to be at work at 8:30am.  So, you hurry to get in bed, because you thought you had the day off.

Luckily, you did all you could to prepare for breakfast the night before.

That is the making of a buckwheat bake.  All of the dry ingredients ground and combined.  I just had to add the wet in the morning.  I used sweet potato instead of pumpkin, because apparently there is no pumpkin in the grocers right now.

I was completely out of peanut butter, but did have one of these individual packets that I picked up at Whole Foods one day when they were on sale.

This beauty, with 1 T pb and a bit of Crofter’s jelly, kept me full until around noon. I ate breakfast around 7:30!

It was a long morning at work and I was getting progressively sore from Body Pump.  I had a few things I wanted to get done yesterday and the Krannons (Michele, Ryan, and Leila) were coming over at 5.  So, I chose to go home after work, instead of working out.  ( I really should have gotten my legs moving though because I am sore yet today.)

I was thinking about 2 things while at work – Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus and Archer Farms Organic Blue Corn Chips.  I am a huge fan of garlic!

In the bowl there is a bit of collard greens with turnips with channa masala on top.  The channa masala was from a package.  Packaged food pretty much always disappoint (except those chips and hummus).  I had seen this at World Market and Whole Foods multiple times.  The ingredients list all checked out.  Everything was actual food.  It had two servings, so I ate on Friday and Saturday.  It definitely lacked spice, but it really lacked flavor at all. It did not taste bad and the texture was ok.  It was just boring.  So, I won’t be buying it again, but I will try to make channa masala myself.

I had about a tablespoon of hummus with 12 tortilla chips (10 is a serving size), and some fresh carrots, bell pepper, and cucumber.

A while later I was not terribly hungry, but felt unsatisfied.  I decided to have some granola, frozen cherries, and half of a banana.

This was pretty much a huge mistake.  I felt too full.  I felt uncomfortable.

I had a little time before the arrival of the Krannons so I went to the mall to go bra shopping.

Every woman knows that when you lose weight you pretty much need new bras.  So, I thought I would go to a “reliable” source to be sized.  I went to Victoria’s Secret and they told me one size.  Then I went to Dillard’s, thinking I could get them to confirm it for me.  Too bad they told me two different sizes.  Two TOTALLY different sizes.  I am talking two cup sizes different and two inches different.  Uhh, what?

I was irritated.  I was frustrated.  I was annoyed.  It was crowded and busy.  I quit.  I gave up. I know I will have to go back again and figure it out, but not yesterday. I had Leila on my mind.

After a little QT with this cutie, I decided to try roasting some peanuts to make peanut butter. I also roasted some hazelnuts (filberts) to try making some Nutella, as well.  I love Nutella, but I can not get over the fact that the first ingredient listed is sugar.

I googled how to roast nuts.  I followed the directions.  I packed up everything I needed and headed to the Kranner’s house (Christina and Jesse).  They were out of town because Jesse had a triathlon in Galveston on Sunday. I still do not have a blender or a food processor, and saw this as my chance to try out these nut butter recipes that I have been sitting on for a while.

I packed up the ingredients for a smoothie-in-a-bowl (SIAB). Without a blender, I live a smoothie-less life, which is sad.

I based my smoothie on Ashley’s Chocolate Cherry Cake Batter Smoothie .  I packed 1 c. frozen berries (mix of cherries and blueberries), 1/2 frozen banana, 1 c. soy milk, 3 T raw rolled oats, 1 T chia seeds, 1 .5 T unsweetened cocoa.  On top, I crumbled the LAST “Holy Moly!” bar. This was delicious and satisfying. I did enjoy searching out those chunks of chocolate.  The oats and chia made it thick and yummy!  I can’t wait to do this again.

Now, about that nut butter.  First I attempted the Nutella recipe from Heather at HeatherEatsAlmondButter. I was surprised how this came together.  Does it taste just like Nutella? No.  Does it taste like hazelnut and chocolate?  Yes.  Did I like it? Yes.  Will I make it again?  YES! I only made a half recipe, so I do not think it will last too long in my fridge. The first ingredient in mine is hazelnuts, so that is not a bad thing.

About that peanut butter… it was an epic failure.  I think the peanuts may have been too old.  Maybe it was the roasting that was inadequate.  I am just going to buy nut butter for a while, but eventually when I do try again I will buy the peanuts pre-roasted if I am going for dry roasted peanuts.  But, I will probably try to maple or honey roast my own sometime, when I have a date with a food processor again.

After all that nut butter tasting, I felt full when I went to sleep.  Ga-ross.

Geez, my day looked nothing like what I expected.  My Sunday is going really well though.  The Bele is over and that makes the world a beautiful place.

By the way, I am overwhelmed by the response I have gotten from some people.  If you know someone who would be interested in what I write about, please share my web address with them.  I would love to share this journey with any and all.  Everything is more fun when there are others along for the ride.

7 Responses to “Just When You Least Expect It”

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter April 10, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    So glad the Nutella worked for ya – hopefully, it made up for the bra shopping mishap. It’s good to have friends with nice appliances, no?

    Enjoy the rest of your Sunday. :)

    • weightsandmeasures April 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      I mixed a scoop with a little soy milk to make the sauce and dipped a couple strawberries in it. It sure did taste like a dessert, even though I know it was guilt-free :) I love real food! Thanks for creating the recipe!

  2. Rachel April 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    How much (or little, rather) were you able to get the Justin’s packets on sale for? I bought an almond butter packet at Sprouts last month and loooved it…but I just can’t spend $1 for them on a regular basis.

  3. weightsandmeasures April 13, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    I bought two of these at Whole Foods for $.49 each. I figured they would be good to have in case of emergency (read running out of peanut butter before I get to the store or the need to pack a lunch). The PB packets are always cheaper than the almond butter though. Almonds cost more than peanuts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Walking Tall « weightsandmeasures - April 11, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← Just When You Least Expect It […]

  2. In the Dark « weightsandmeasures - April 12, 2011

    […] had a small bowl of granola with almond milk and a bit of unsweetened coconut and homemade Nutella on top.  I also had some cashew […]

  3. The Early Bird Gets Second Breakfast « weightsandmeasures - April 13, 2011

    […] though.  I ate the other half of my banana from breakfast and a piece of toast with the last of my homemade Nutella.  I told you it would not last long. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

