Spin Class Review

12 Apr

There is something about loud music and a lot of people looking anguished on metallic bikes that has always intimidated me.  That is why I had never taken a spin class.

This morning I went to a different location of my gym specifically to take Body Pump.  That is what motivated me out of bed at 4:45 am.  That is also what motivated me to drive the miles, passing gas stations with $3.79 signs (ugh…), when my gym is 1.5 miles from my house.

I had never been to this location, but immediately knew it was very nice.  I asked the man at the front desk if Body Pump was this morning and he told me, “No, but spin starts at 5:30.” I kind of hesitated and he said, ‘Come on, stretch yourself.” Well played, guy I don’t know, well played.

So there I was, walking down the hall to spin class.  This was an older crowd.  They all knew each other.  They nodded and helloed as the adjusted their bikes.

I picked a bike close enough to see the teacher and far enough to feel out of the way.  I approached my intimidating bike, and adjusted the seat.  I should have adjusted the handle bars too, but realized that about half way through class.

I hopped on, noticing everyone else brought a towel (Oops!). I strapped my feet in and starting to warm up my legs.

The teacher showed up right at 5:30.  She chatted as she got her bike ready.  I looked around, trying to catch as much as I could of what I should be doing.

By the time class started my legs were warm.  The room was also warm.

Frankly, it was not really what I expected.  I think it was the teacher.  She was a little random and unfocused.  I expected hype and pushing and motivation.  The music was unfocused and random too.  There was little sync to it all.  It did not seem planned or choreographed as I think it should have been.

The Verdict... I am not in love, but I am in like.  I will definitely try another spin class.  I will not be going to one led by this teacher though.

I felt like I got a decent work out, but each person decides how hard they are working by the gear they are in.  So, just because you go and take a spin class does not mean that you are going to get the same workout as the person next to you.  I think that is a positive, though.  While you follow the same routine each person is determining their own resistance.

Would I recommend you go to a spin class? Yes, I would.  No matter your fitness level, you can be challenged in a spin class.  Once again, it may not be your cup of tea, but you won’t know unless you try.

I would suggest finding a friend and going with them.  Don’t be afraid to ask the person next to you for help either.  Most people are really nice and remember what it was like the first time they took the class.

By the way, I love working out early in the morning.  I am really trying to practice self-control and make it a more common occurrence.  I love being about to feel good all day, knowing I jumpstarted my metabolism!

One Response to “Spin Class Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrapping Up the Weekend… Late Edition « weightsandmeasures - June 21, 2011

    […] Tuesday – Spin Class […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

