Ode to a Tree

22 Apr

Today is Earth Day, but more importantly it is Good Friday.  All over the country there are people out there hugging a proverbial tree.  While I do believe that we need to be mindful of our treatment of the earth, there is a much more important tree that I pin build my hopes, my dreams, and my very life to every day.

There was once a tree that grew up from the ground and was cut down.  It was made into beams and fashioned into a cross.  That cross was laid upon the shoulders of a man who was accused of much and guilty of none. Atop a hill called Golgatha, he was afixed to the tree with spikes through his hands and feet.  That tree was once again raised, now standing tall with a sign that read, ‘The King of the Jews”.

My Lord was on that tree.  He chose to be there because he realized that without the sacrifice of a perfect Lamb, that my sin would keep me from Him.  He chose to suffer.  He chose to die. For me.

In His last moments of life He declared from that tree, “Tetelestai”.  “It is finished.”

Upon that tree He gave His life that I might have life.  There on that cross began the work of salvation.

He was removed from the cross and placed in the Earth.  Never had the Earth held so precious a life. But hold, it could not.

So, I build not my hopes not on a tree or on the Earth, but on the Lamb who chose to die and now lives.

My hope is built of nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness…

Do you know the rest of the story?  Are aware of how it ends? (and by ends I means lives eternally)

2 Responses to “Ode to a Tree”

  1. Jim Kracht April 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    He paid the price and gave it to us as a gift. Completely Paid for.

  2. Christina April 22, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Such a humbling realization. Jesus gave his life, so that I could live. Amazing. I am forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

