A Day I’d Eat Again

6 May

Quick post from a tired girl…

Breakfast was so good that I wanted it to last forever.

I ate it ridiculously slow.

Each bite was small.

I should eat like this more often.

My inspiration was banana nut bread…

There is a very good chance that I will eat this on Friday morning as well.

Banana Nut 10 Grain Cereal

Serves 1

1/4 c Bob’s Red Mill 10 Grain Cereal

1/2 c water

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

1/4 t cinnamon

1/4 t vanilla

1 whole banana, mashed or pinched into pieces

1 T chopped walnuts

1 T chia seeds

1. Bring cereal, water, and milk to a gentle boil

2. Add cinnamon, vanilla, walnuts, and banana

3. Cook to desired consistencey

4. Turn off the heat and stir in the chia seeds

I topped it with a few more walnuts, 1/2 T pb, and 1/2 T Crofter’s jelly

I made sure to get a little jelly and pb on my spoon for each bite.  I was sad when it was all gone.

I really wanted to run on the treadmill today.  I rarely get to watch TV these days, but if I was on the treadmill I could.  When I mindlessly put on moisturizer with SPF, I took that as a push out the front door.

I ran/walked for 30 minutes, then did 5 more minutes on the treadmill.  I stretched for a very very long time and did some crunches.

I walked the 1.5 miles to work tonight, so I was ok with a shorter workout.  Also, I am pretty sore from yesterday’s cardio and BP combo, so my body felt a bit tired.

Lunch was inspired by Emily‘s sprouty sandwich on Tuesday and Ashley‘s tempeh sandwich a couple weeks ago.

A toasted bagel thin with artichoke hummus on one side and garlic lovers on the other, topped with spinach, toasted veggie garden tempeh, cucumber, mung bean sprouts, and red onion… I do love red onion.

On the side… a carrot and some sweeeet yellow pepper.

I will most likely be eating this again tomorrow, as well.

About half way through I realized that I did not use the avocado that was ready to be eaten.  I also decided to risk this all falling apart to add salt and pepper. AND, I was wishing for tomato… there is always tomorrow.

A snack of kale chips with a bit of paprika and nutritional yeast. I sure did eat these while putting on my make-up before work.

After work I was oh-so-hungry, so I came home and had a small grapefruit, a ramekin of Snobby Joe, and 2 (defrosted) Trail Mix cookies with a little pb.

I started to pack for our camping trip while folding clean laundry today.  There is no reason to put it away and get it back out.

Body Pump at 10am tomorrow!

Tomorrow holds a lot of packing and maybe a little baking for camping…

For now, I am going to sleep (at 11, now 11:15) the earliest I have all week.

It all started when I stayed up crazy late to hear the President’s announcement on Sunday night.  Got to get back on sleep track!

PS. Clare over at Fitting It All In is doing a giveaway of Love Grown granola. I have never tried this granola, but have heard amazing reviews. Check it out!

6 Responses to “A Day I’d Eat Again”

  1. Christina May 6, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    When are you camping?

  2. fitandfabinfrance May 6, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Kale chips?!?

    I LOVE Kale but have never had it like this… what do you do? Is it simply roasting?

    • weightsandmeasures May 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      It is quick and easy! Rinse it and allow it to dry. Then tear it into pieces, discarding the thick stalk. Put it on a baking sheet. Then mist with olive oil or cooking spray. I just shake on a little paprika or cayenne or garlic and some nutritional yeast. 350 in the oven for about 5-7 minutes. Watch it close! It will burn easy and burnt kale really stinks! You will know it is done when it is crisp, but not brown.

      Hope it works for you!

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun May 7, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    that sandwich looks SO good. I love sandwiches of all types and this one calls to me.

    Hope you have a fun weekend!

    • weightsandmeasures May 7, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Hey Tina! i just found your blog the other day. I was so inspired by your whole-hearted pursuit of weightlifting and now running.

      I duplicated that sandwich the next day, but added spicy mustard and avocado. It was wonderful! I like when the volume of a sandwich is veggies, instead of bread. Nutritious and filling!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

