Simpler Times

15 Sep

If you have watched me change my diet and lifestyle as much as I have over the last year, you may wonder if I am happy with my decision all of the time.

  • Do I ever miss the simplicity of being willing to eat anywhere without thought of the ingredients and their effect on my body?
  • Do I ever miss the days when I did not exercise unless I wanted to? (which meant I never exercised)

Yes.

There are days I miss the effortlessness of picking up Chick-fil-A for a quick meal when in a hurry. I do sometimes miss my mom’s sweet tea on a hot summer day. There are times when I just want to eat what I want to eat without being conscious of the repercussions. There are moments when I feel like the “bad guy” when people want me to choose the restaurant and I know they won’t like what I pick.

But never do I miss being obese. Never do I miss feeling tired all of the time. Never do I miss feeling insecure about my size.

I make a lot of sacrifices to eat well and stay active.

There are things I do not get to do that I do like (watch TV, see movies, read novels, spend hours in the kitchen cooking).

But, we are all sacrificing something.

I sacrifice time and energy to meal plan and exercise. Others may be sacrificing their health and well being, in order to spend their hours doing what they want to do.

In a way, I have merely released what has been accepted as simplicity, which is actually just convenience, and adopted a new form of simplicity.

Eat real food and move a lot.

So, yes, I miss the convenience, but I appreciate deeply the simplicity I have found and the effect it has had on my life.

Let’s be simple together.

What are you sacrificing today?
Are you getting the results that you want?

2 Responses to “Simpler Times”

  1. Clare @ Fitting It All In September 15, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Good post. I feel the same way. Sometimes I wish “why can’t I just be normal and not think about it” but it’s good to remember that which ever lifestyle you choose you are sacrificing something.

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 15, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Great post!

    I miss eating simply, but I don’t miss being unhealthy. I’m so much happier these days!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

