Lesson Learned…Audience of One

31 Mar

(I am striking while the iron is hot… AKA writing while I feel inspired.  I just got home from the gym, so I am hot and sweat and frankly a bit stinky.  I am sure you wanted to know that.)

Instead of going straight from work to my workout I felt like I wanted to come home and have lunch and get a few things done with the intention of going after my food digested.  I’m learning that it is ok to listen to feelings like that, but that sometimes boundaries are still necessary.  Around the corner from my house, the “check engine” light came on and my car felt a bit puttery.  This is not the first time I have had this experience in this car, but this is the first time that I have reacted without panic and an emotional break down.  I usually call my dad, who is quite handy and cry or get angry.  I exaggerate not when I say that he can do pretty much anything, and if he can’t he either knows someone who can or will visit our friend Google and sit a spell until he has an answer. I have learned a lot in the last 7 months about trusting God, and this life event was just that… an event.  It is not a tragedy.  My world is not falling apart.  I have determined in my heart that God is more than able to provide and intervene.  (I wish I knew how many check engine lights I have had read at Auto Zone. If they knew, they would surely charge me.)

That being said, I rolled with the punches and adjusted my workout plan.  The original plan was a sweaty and intense 60 minutes on the elliptical and upper body weights, because I ran yesterday (1.5 mi running without stopping, .15 fast walking , .5 mi running, .20 fast walking, .5 mi running, .25 fast walking = 3.1 mi ) and did lower body weights.  Since I was transporting on foot, I walked as quickly as I could.  This is a huge frustration for me – I have a short stride, so fast for me is not so fast for most people. I walked the 1.5 mi. in 22:30, which is a 15 min or 4mph pace.  I immediately hopped on the treadmill because I felt like it.  When my legs feel like running I try to run.  I punched up the speed to 5.5 mph for a few minutes and then 6.0 mph for one minute and back down to 5.5.  I did .5 mi when I felt done.  I knew I was walking the 1.5 mi. home AND I felt a blister forming on my toe, so I went with it and hopped off.

I did 3 circuits of arm weights and some ab work (I always call it ab work.  Does anyone else?) I saw Steve (the dad of one of my childhood and still closest friends).  He goes to my gym and kindly corrected my form on one of the machines.  I felt a little embarrassed initially, but an hour later I feel humbled and thankful.  When I feel embarrassed it is generally the result of pride.  I am glad that he cares enough about me to help me get the most out of my workout.

I walked home at a bit of a slower pace (about 24:00 or a 16 minute mile), because the blister was in full force by this time.  As I walked I was thinking about today’s lesson learned…

You have to do your workout.  A lot runners say, ‘You have to run your own race.” It is so true.

I have incredible people in my life that encourage me to work out.  My sister, Christina , and I text each other after most of our workouts and tell each other what we did.  She keeps me accountable.  There are times when I am struggling and I even tell her before hand what I plan to do, so that she knows if I reached that day’s goal (this usually causes me to go even farther or longer).  Other times I ask her to ask me about my workouts, because I need a kick in the pants.  But, I can not do Christina’s workouts.  We are in two totally different bodies.  We have different schedules and life demands.  She is biking a lot these days and I am still saving for a road bike.

I am guilty of judging other people’s workouts.  You see someone pop in the gym and do what seems like an easy workout, but I have no idea what is going on in their body or in their life.  I do not know where they started or where they are headed.  I’ll be working on this for sure.

But, I am also guilty of judging my own workout.  Sometimes it is against the people who write the blogs I read or against Christina or a friend or the idea I have in my head of where I should be and what I should be doing.  (Never am I guilty of comparing myself to IronJesse, my brother-in-law.  He is not human.). In reality, there are people who are out there who may judge my workout at the gym.  I have to get over that though and realize that if I form a workout plan for that day and I go and I do it and really give it what I have to give (and that extra I found somewhere along the way), then I have done my job for the day.  The audience of one is really myself (and maybe that half ton cow in the field I walked by today because he really had his eye on me).  If I let the bystanders detour me then I wouldn’t go over to weight side of the gym (and that is my favorite part) or even run at the gym (I’ve seen myself in a mirror and I make running look really hard).  I would be missing out on so much.

Do you ever feel intimidated at the gym?  Do you find yourself judging other people’s workouts or your own?  Who do you find yourself comparing them to?

One Response to “Lesson Learned…Audience of One”

  1. Christina April 1, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    You are incredible…and have already come so far!! I am proud of you daily. I can’t wait to see where this journey takes you, and I am even more excited to be able to be a part of it!! I love you!!

Leave a Reply

