All Things Considered

1 Apr

Today is the first day that I will show you a whole day’s worth of eats.  I have been kind of hard on myself this week because it seemed like someone’s hand was slipping into the cookie peanut butter jar a little too often.  (Have you tried Maranatha Natural Creamy No-Stir PB? If so, then you understand my struggle.) I also felt like I wasn’t eating my fair share of vegetables. But last night, I loaded pictures from a camera onto a computer for the very first time.  Then I took a look at practice pictures from the last couple of days.  I needed to get in that habit of taking a picture before I inhaled my food.  (I’m working on eating slower.) And, all things considered, the week as a whole was not as bad as I thought it had been.  But, I am trying to ration the peanut butter a little more.

Overnight Oatage

This is a simple breakfast that is put together the night before and enjoyed in the morning.

Serves 1

1/3 c rolled oats

1 T raw chia seeds

1 T ground flax meal

1 T unsweetened shredded coconut

1 c. almond milk

splash of pure vanilla extract

dash of cinnamon

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl with a lid and leave in the fridge over night.

Morning ins (AKA the yummies)

1/2 small banana mashed and stirred in

1/2 small banana sliced

1 T pb drizzled

1/2 T Crofters Fruit Spread

pinch of Great Grains (I should have left this off.  It didn’t serve the intended purpose of crunch.)

 

Lunch consisted of two bowls. I prefer my salads to be in bowls for mixability. The bowl on the left is 1/2 c. brown rice, 1/4 c northern beans, and about 1/2 c frozen broccoli sauteed together with a tad of sesame oil and soy sauce that was then drizzled with Siracha.  On the right you have a mama-daddy salad of spinach, carrot, red onion, 4 tiny strawberries, a sprinkle of chia, sunflower seeds, and a sprinkle of coconut.  I drizzled that with a little white balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. It was kind of a lot.  I could have eaten a little less. I am still training my mind.

I had a snack when I got home from the gym because I had plans, which eventually came unraveled, that would push dinner back a little while.

I took a bottle of water and a little light reading and recipes torn out of magazines onto the back porch, because it was an absolutely beautiful day and we rarely get those in Dallas.

3 oz. Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt with 1/3 c frozen cherries halved and 1 pinch of raw oats, for texture

This was yummy and full of protein (Greek yogurt), but I will be sharing more about dairy in the very near future.

While dinner was in the oven, I ground and mixed my breakfast for the next day, since I knew it would be an early morning and an exhausting day.  This nub of banana was left over and asked for a bit o’ pb. I obliged. I may have had a peeled carrot, and dipped a nub of that in pb too.  I’m serious when I say, I think I may have an addiction.

Finally supper emerged from the oven and tasted as good as it smelled.

Frozen brussel sprouts and fresh yellow squash tossed in olive oil, salt, pepper, and basil.  I put a little spicy mustard on those mini lettuce heads.  It was the first time I had eaten brussel sprouts and the first time I cooked them.  I have every intention of cooking them again.

I stayed full and busy until I went to sleep and woke up hungry but not starving.

All things considered, I think I need to lighten up a bit.

I know I used some ingredients you may not use often.  Which ones would you like to know more about?

Is there any food that you find yourself drawn to like I feel about peanut butter?

And, since I have so many smarty-smart friends… what inspired the title of today’s post?

2 Responses to “All Things Considered”

  1. Rachel April 2, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I absolutely love you and this blog!!! This is definitely inspiring. I know I could be eating better, but I fallen prey to the excuses of not enough time or energy my fair share of times. And yes my fall back foods are peanut butter and greek yogurt and eggs (not together of course). Thanks for putting up the recipes and brands. I feel def inspired to cook for sure!

    • weightsandmeasures April 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      Oh thank you so much! I love you too! I am still adjusting to being in the real world again. I am learning to plan and cook when I have time so that I can eat well when I don’t have time. There are so many greater blogs out there that inspire me. This is stretching me for real, but it is such a good thing.

Leave a Reply

