Dear Dairy,

2 Apr

Dear Dairy,

You and I have had a long history… 25 years now, and to say the least it has been one of many ups and downs. As a baby you caused me such irritation that I had hives head to toe, causing my mother to omit you from my life.  As a child, I sub-conciously avoided you.  You held no appeal, unless in the form of ice cream, of course.  I even preferred my cereal dry.  A few Oreos were required to entice me to fill a glass with a small amount of milk for dunking.

For a few years I endured that I could not eat you without having a stomach ache for the next few hours.  However, since my symptoms were so minor, I gave you chance after chance.  I can, in good conscience, say that I have tried.

 

Old Bridge Gelato in the hands of Christina (literally, this melted all over her hands)

I’ll admit that melted cheese atop crusty pizza is alluring.  Cold gelato on a street corner in blazing  Rome, Italy across from the Vatican City wall is undeniable.  A yogurt parfait with fresh berries and crunchy granola is sometimes the perfect snack. A gooey grilled cheese is, in fact, a comforting childhood meal.

Zero Zero giant pizza in Venice, Italy (scale work by Iron-Jesse)

But, I have given you chances.  We have come to a crossroads, where your fate is to be determined.  Ice cream went when I stopped eating processed sugar. I no longer buy milk, because only the Lord knows what the heck they’re putting in those cows.  I no longer buy cheese because, honestly, I can live without the fat.  But, yogurt… this has been more of a challenge.  I have justified you with the protein of Greek yogurt and sometimes you just sounded so good.  But, that is no longer enough.

So, I must say it.  You and I are through.  It isn’t you.  It’s me. I just can’t take it anymore.  So this is goodbye… at least for now.  Because, I am sure I’ll forget how adamantly I feel at this moment. And, when I return to Rome, I will revisit Old Bridge gelataria and eat pizza every day.  In the day to day reality of life, you and I are not good for each other.

Life is both too long and too short to live in such an unhealthy relationship. I know I will see you daily.  I’ll see you at the store, at restaurants, in my own fridge… but, your draw is lost on me.

So, until my memories fade or I find myself in Europe again… Goodbye.

Sincerely,

Danielle

 

7 Responses to “Dear Dairy,”

  1. Christina April 2, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    You crack me up!! Your commitment to things of this nature is amazing. And, the Old Bridge Gelateria and Zero Zero were INCREDIBLE treats of Rome. Aaahhhhh…Rome…

  2. Christina April 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I meant treats of Italy…since they were from Rome and Venice respectively!!

    • weightsandmeasures April 2, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Hope you guys don’t mind that I used the photos since I did not ask and all.

  3. Alyssa April 2, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    This post makes me laugh because it reminds me how different we are in this area! Even given the fact that dairy makes you sick, I can’t imagine no dairy!

  4. Alyssa April 2, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Forgot to mention…I’m so glad you gave it a chance!

  5. Rachel April 2, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Love the blog!

    • weightsandmeasures April 3, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Thank you so much Rachel! It’s fun to let my inner dialogue out. I am sure Katelyn feels the same :).

Leave a Reply

