Cayenne Pepper Killed the Cat

3 Apr

When I went to sleep last night I devised a plan for today and it was simple… rest. My body was screaming for rest. Everything was tired, from my hair to my knee caps to my little toes. Resting is something I have to CHOOSE to do. It does not come natural to me. What made it more difficult is that I had composed a grocery list and grocery shopping is something I consider fun. (Seriously, I think looking at produce is enjoyable. You just never know what you may find!)

I made a third of Ashley’s oat pancakes recipe. I added 1 T (tablespoon of vegan chocolate chips) and 1 T of unsweetened shredded coconut in the mix. I used a flax egg instead of a real egg (1/2 T flax seeds ground + 1 T water, that I let stand for about 5 minutes until all of the water is absorbed). Normally a flax egg is considered an entire tablespoon of flax ground, but since I did not make the entire recipe, I only used half. I added about 2 tablespoons of water to the mix too. These guys are dense! I loved it! I would have added banana, but I was out and that is seriously a tragedy.

The recipe made 3 pancakes that were about 3.5″ in diameter. I stacked them up and topped them with 1/3 c. frozen cherries that I cut in half and sauteed with 1 T water and 1/2 T pure maple syrup. As the cherries melted, their juices bubbled as they cooked. This went perfectly with the pancakes that were already sweet from the chocolate chips. I am not a huge syrup fan… but this was perfect. I sprinkled a little more unsweetened coconut atop for good measure. I paired that with some black coffee (my creamer smelled funny, so it was poured down the drain).

For lunch I made a pizza from an Ezekiel Sprouted Grain tortilla, 1 T pizza sauce, a handful of spinach, red onion, and some northern beans. I sprinkled on some minced garlic, basil, and oregano. Then I made a sauce from 1 spoon of nutritional yeast, a little olive oil, and enough water to make it drizzle-able. I put it on a sheet pan in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.

The tortilla was crispy, just like I wanted. I folded it over to make a pizza-taco. I also had two small carrots peeled and sliced. Full-sized carrots have much more flavor than baby carrots. I am not making that up! They are two different kinds of carrot.

Mid-afternoon I ate both of these mini-fruit friends. I love the sweetness of a clementine (or “clementiny”). I had the tiny apple about 45 minutes later with 1 T of pb. The first and only pb I had ALL DAY LONG!

I enjoyed a bit of a TV movie marathon… When Harry Met Sally, Bandits, Hitch… and managed to stay seated except to refill my beverage. I do not take hydration lightly! Hence, I often joke that I am a bit of a heavy drinker, because I always have something to drink in hand or in purse.

Hunger struck around 6:30 and I made 1/3 c. cooked whole wheat rotini, with 3/4 c. sauteed frozen italian mix veggies, and 1/3 c. pasta sauce (pictured on a dessert plate). I also had a salad.

In the mix… a handful of spinach, a bit of cucumber, red onion, some northern beans, pumpkin seeds, raw sunflower seeds, sprinkle of chia and ground flax. I drizzled this with white balsamic vinegar and a spritz of evoo from my Misto (I’ll tell you more about this later). Be careful not to put the dressing on until you are ready to eat because the chia and flax will absorb any and all moisture around. (Chia absorbs 9 times its weight in liquid!)

Then while reading a new blog I found a recipe for Chili Hot Chocolate and felt the need to give it a try. Mind you I only put in 3/4 the amount of cayenne. All I can say is that curiosity cayenne pepper definitely got the better of me and I am pretty sure that I burned my esophagus and drained any and all congestion from my head. I was only able to drink a few sips before it went down the drain (chasing after that spoiled creamer). It was a fun experiment though. I would make it again with a tiny bit of cayenne to enhance the chocolate flavor.

For the most part, I am feeling better. I think that it is important to eat well, even when you are sick. This is one of those days I was really wishing for a food processor, blender, or juicer because I would have loved a smoothie or glass of fresh fruit and veggie juice. I am practicing patience though and saving up my pennies to buy a nice one.

I put together some overnight oats for the morning, because I always feel rushed on Sunday mornings. I am going to give you some major details on overnight oats, because they are a breakfast revelation.

What kind of foods you eat when you don’t feel well?

Do you find it difficult to throw out food that does not turn out quite right? I sure do.

6 Responses to “Cayenne Pepper Killed the Cat”

  1. Ashley April 3, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    When I am unwell I like mashed potato-sweet or yukon golds; no butter, just a dash of garlic salt. Cinnamon applesauce and pectin gels (raspberry) accompany me through a sore throat, as does much, much green tea. That chili hot chocolate was brave…but I am going to try your Ezekiel pizza! ❤

    • weightsandmeasures April 3, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      I have been the tea queen this weekend. Peppermint tea is probably flowing through my veins.

  2. Christina April 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I love Subway when I am sick. Strange, but true!

    The chili hot chocolate sounds GREAT…like the chili powder chocolate in Switzerland??

    • weightsandmeasures April 3, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

      Exactly, but this was 12 times hotter! We can try it sometime together…when we need to remember Europe.

  3. CHILIFLAKE April 3, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    oh no!! I m so sorry it was too much for you. I actually just edited the recipe for 1 tsp cayenne because I realise I am such a nut with the chili (my tolerance is through the roof) and must be killing people who try my recipes/experiments! hope you try it again with less chili!!

    • weightsandmeasures April 3, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      I was planning to try it again soon. I was thinking 1 tsp, would probably be just right for me. No need to apologize! I found your blog last night and enjoyed looking through your recipes. I bookmarked a few others that I plan to try as well.

Leave a Reply

