Not an Ordinary Sunday

4 Apr

Sundays are generally family days around here, but yesterday was far from usual.  I woke up with a sore throat.  It seems that allergies always morph into something that is a much bigger deal (upper respiratory or sinus infection).  In an attempt to avoid drastic measures (missing work or a trip to the doctor), I stayed home from church to rest.  I missed the wedding shower of two friends as well. Sorry Sam and Tiff!

As I promised, I am going to give you a few more details about overnight oats. They are super simple and adaptable in so many different ways.  The general idea is that you mix all the ingredients together in a container with a lid and let them sit in the refrigerator overnight.  There is no need to cook them, because they will soak up all the liquid and the oats will get tender.  This is actually beneficial because cooking food causes some of the nutrients to be lost and soaking grains makes them easier to digest.

Overnight Oats

Serves 1

1/3 c. rolled oats

1/2 c. almond milk (you can use any kind of milk)

1/2 c. water (you can double the milk and omit the water)

1 T chia seeds

1 T ground flax

1 T unsweetened shredded coconut

1 T chopped raw walnuts

1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1 T cinnamon

Stir all of the ingredients in a container that has a lid.  In the morning I mashed half of a banana in a bowl.  I then added the oatmeal and stirred it again.  I let it sit on the counter for a few minutes so that a little of the chill is gone, but I do eat it cold.  I plopped 1 T peanut butter on top and enjoyed.

That kept me full until lunch time.  I planned to make Cuban Black Beans with a recipe that I found in the February/March edition of Taste of Home. The recipe turned out pretty perfect.  It was supposed to be sweet, but I added a little cayenne and paprika to fit my taste (maybe that Chili Cocoa was on my mind). It was a very simple recipe, which I always appreciate.

 

 

I served it over brown rice with half of a small avocado on top.  I had plenty of leftovers, even though I only made a half recipe.

For dessert I had an iced coffee and two of Averie’s raw donut holes, which are made of flax, coconut oil, and maple syrup.

I spent time washing my jars and lids, and then let them air dry for the afternoon.  A day later, they are still empty.  I plan on filling them when I am done with this post, if time allows before returning to work.

I did have an apple after a while and made some of Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas, because I was taking regular brownies to small groups and wanted a sweet snack I could eat.

I took it upon myself to make sure that this cinnamon-y goodness was not left on the pan too long.

I transported them in these baby food jars.  I brought home almost the same amount though.  I think sweet chickpeas are too hard for some people to wrap their mind around.  Don’t worry though Mama Pea, they won’t go to waste.  I can wrap more than my mind around these little guys.

At small groups, I knew we were having hummus (since I was picking it up on my way) and pita chips. So, I packed some veggies to eat with my hummus, so I would not get carried away with the pita chips. It was a great plan… but my willpower was not strong enough.  I ended up eating my plate shown here, and then about 10 more chips throughout the night.  In all, it was not a terrible choice.  I was aware of the calorie count and the serving size, and tried to be reasonable.

Not pictured are the HUGE strawberries that were brought, that were very sweet.  I had some of those too.  Eventually I was so kind as to put the leftovers in a baggie for the girl who brought them, so they were not a temptation on the counter anymore.  Seems to me, if it is sitting on the counter, it is just asking to be eaten.  So, I try my best to keep food put away or with lids on.  Anything to help me have more time to think and make decisions.

I hope your Sunday involved some good food and family.  I know I sure missed mine!

2 Responses to “Not an Ordinary Sunday”

  1. Christina April 4, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    I missed ya’ll too!! I told mom and dad they are going to have to make some adjustments to accomodate our family Sundays in the future! =)

    That Cuban bean stuff looked YUMMY!! You may need to make that for me sometime!

    • weightsandmeasures April 5, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      It was really good. The recipe was very easy. It would be a great one for any family, because meat eaters could throw some chicken on top. It would be great with a dollop of sour cream and some cheese up there too, for dairy eaters.

Leave a Reply

