It Huffed and It Puffed

5 Apr

I planned to get up early yesterday morning and go to the gym to run.  But when my alarm went off at 5:30am and I heard the wind, rain, and hail that was pounding at our house, Big Bad Wolf style, I rolled over.  I have a strict no showering before working out policy.

When I work up an hour or so later, I was aware that my throat was still not feeling great. So, I made the executive (but genuinely difficult decision) to skip my Monday workout.  We all know what happens if you push through when you are sick and try to ignore it.  There is not an award for bravery… just a doctor’s bill.

I started my day with a microwaved buckwheat bake.  I look forward to these because I like warm breakfast.  I like sweetish breakfast. I like grinding grains in my coffee grinder (that I only grind grains and nuts in).

Mine does not get very fluffy like Ashley’s, because I do not use eggs in mine.  If you know where I can get farm fresh eggs for a reasonable price, then PLEASE let me know.

I did alter the recipe a bit, because I was a little low on buckwheat groats.  The original recipe can be found here.

Serves 1

(The night before I mixed the following ingredients in a bowl)

1/4 c. mixture of raw buckwheat groats and oat bran (ground in my coffee oat grinder)

1 T raw buckwheat groats

1 T Chia seeds

1 T chopped walnuts

1 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1 t cinnamon

1/4 t baking powder

dash of ginger

In the morning

1 flax egg (1T ground flax + 2.5 T water + 4-5 min. resting to absorb moisture)

1/2 mashed banana

2 T almond milk

I mix together the wet ingredients and then stir in the dry.  It all went into my Crate + Barrel mini pie pan and into the microwave for 4 minutes.

I mashed the other half of a banana and 1 T pb together and plopped that on top, almost like frosting.  You can see in this picture that the bake is about 1″ thick on the sides and a little thicker in the middle. That cup of coffee is tiny.  It is an old fashioned diner style cup that I procured from my Grandmother’s Memory Room while in Nebraska.

For lunch, I started with an appetizer of 1/2 of a small apple chopped and 3 sliced strawberries.  I’ll admit that I thought this fruit salad was asking for banana, but I resisted since my one-banana-a-day quota had already been met.

I have read that there are some benefits to eating fruit either before or after a meal, but not with, so I ate this while working on Sunday’s food post.  Before I knew it, 30 minutes passed, so I hopped into the kitchen and rolled up a very messy burrito.

I washed a bib of lettuce when I chopped up the fruit, so it was nice and dry.  On top of that regular green lettuce leaf I put a small amount of brown rice, some of Sunday’s cuban black beans, fresh chopped green onion, and half of a small avocado. It all held together, but there was some runaway juice.

Dessert consisted of an Iced Chai and a literal 10 or so Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas.  (I did not finish off the jar at this time, but did later that night after work.)

I had to return to work for a few more hours, so I ate an early dinner of Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax Granola + Great Grains (3/4 c. total) with some almond milk and a dollup of pb. Usually I get very hungry during the evening shift at work, but this kept me pretty satisfied until about 7:45.

After work I went to my car looking for the apple and clemen”tiny” that I pulled out to take to my sister’s house with me.  Then I remembered that I left them on the kitchen table.  They are actually sitting beside me now… 14 hours later.

I went to Christina’s to do some strategic race talking with Iron-Jesse, my brother-in-law.  While he watched basketball we talked, I munched on a little cantaloupe and a really little clemen”tiny” that Christina donated to the cause.

What did we talk about? You really want to know don’t you! Details will be revealed in time.  This I can tell you, I am using my race on the 16th as a test to determine my upcoming training schedule.  That is right, I said training.

Jesse inspires me.  He has a story of overcoming his circumstances.  It means a lot to me that someone who has competed in, and excelled in, countless races and multiple Ironman competitions still finds joy in my achievements and improvements.

Do you have a cheerleader on your exercise/healthy eating journey? Do you have someone who inspires you to do what you thought was impossible?  Do you have someone who believes in you, sometimes more than you do yourself?

Maybe you don’t.  I am blessed to have a community of family and friends that encourage me so liberally.  If you don’t, shoot me an email at daniellekracht@hotmail.com .

Oh yeah… when I got home from her house is when I finished off those chickpeas… and half of an apple… (with a little pb).

Leave a Reply

