The Blame Game

7 Apr

I blame that late night granola crunching for the lack of full fledge morning hunger.

I like to wake up hungry.  It tells me that I did not eat too heavy the night before.  I did NOT feel that hungry yesterday morning.  It was a tragedy of epic breakfast proportions!

So I broke my fast with a fruit salad of 1/4 banana, 3 strawberries, and 4 blackberries.

And, and a recipe of  oat bake, which I split into two ramekins.  I threw a T of dried (apple juice infused) cranberries into the mix too.

One for breakfast, one for the next day.  I used coconut oil, which is solid at room temperature, to grease the ramekins, and needed a few tools to shimmy them out.

I ate the dilapidated one yesterday.  Damaged goods must be expelled of promptly!

To console the manhandled little muff, I applied a few toppings.

Intermission for digestion…

I blame myself for a sporadic change of plans.

I had a morning run planned, so I strapped on my tennies and headed out before I changed my mind.  I did 25 minutes (warm up walking and then run/walk/sprint randomly) before feeling the urge to go run on the treadmill.  So, I ran in the house, grabbed my water bottle and keys and headed to the nearby gym.

Sweat dripping, I walked in looking a mess.  I went to the treader, and pounded out another 1.25 mi in around 15 min.  Then I made my way to the Stairmaster, on which I mastered 12 minutes of intervals (someone had to teach that guy a lesson).

I decided to stretch at home, since the drive is so short.  By the time I got home it was almost 1.  So, while I stretched I thought about lunch.  I came up with another way to use those Cuban black beans.

I blame the avocado for this deliciousness!

A bed of iceberg (because I really wanted crunchy) and spinach with Cuban BlackBeans and some lazy-girl guacamole.

Lazy-Girl Guacamole

1 small guacamole

2T salsa

1 stem green onion

1 spoon pre-minced garlic

sea salt to taste

I blame the tortillas getting crisp in the fridge… for the impromptu homemade tortilla chips. I cut two small tortillas into “trianglish” shapes and spritzed them with evoo and a dashing of sea salt.  In the oven they went for a few minutes at 350.

I blame my niece for my inability to be productive when she is within a mile radius.

My sister, Michele, my brother-in-law, Ryan, and my niece, Leila (or Leilabele, as I call her) came over around 2, which means quality time.  Tell me you would not do anything for that face?

I blame Grand Prairie for being so far from the city.

I packed my supper up, because I had an errand to run 33 miles away.  I packed a salad of a little cold whole wheat rotini, iceberg, green leaf lettuce, red onion, cucumber, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, 3 strawberries sliced, and coconut.  I mixed olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a separate container for later pourage.  I also took the remnants of some Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus and a carrot.

You can’t tell how big that salad is, but it is a big guy. I ate this at church, during class.  There I was crunching away.  (I blame the carrots.) I have no shame.

In the background you can see my lunch box. If you want to make healthy choices consistently, I think it is imperative that you be prepared to pack and carry food with you.  As a general rule, I always have something to eat on my person.  Life happens, and when it does I am ready with a snack that will be healthy.

I also snacked on some trail mix.  A while later I had a clemen”tiny” too.

I do not know who to blame for my late night pondering.  Oh wait, yes I do.  I blame my passion for this blog and my love of writing. I really do hope you are enjoying this.

I feel like a kid in a dried fruit and roasted nut store!

Leave a Reply

