Body Pump Review

8 Apr

Despite the warnings of some, I gave LesMills Body Pump a try today. This was actually my first every group exercise class at my current gym, so I will admit I was a little nervous. But, I love lifting weights, so I went in hoping that this would be something that could incorporate into my exercise routine to challenge myself and make things a little more interesting.

What is Body Pump?

Body pump is a 60 minute routine, using barbells, free weights, and a step bench,  set to music. The goal is a full body work out, working major muscle groups.  It involves, squats, luges, bench pressing, dead lifting, presses, push ups, bicep curls, etc.  Each person chooses their own weights.  Since the goal is muscle endurance, each exercise is repeated many times.

How did it go?

Well, I went in humble and proud at the same time.  I put 5 lbs. on each side of my barbell and took 2.5lb  plates and 5lb plates with me too.  I figured I would be conservative, since I knew people who had quit in the middle and walked out.  That is where the pride came into play.  I was determined that I would finish the class.  Even if I had to drop weight, I was finishing.  I wanted to get the full experience of the entire class.

By the end of the first set,  I was sweating up a mess.  My muscles felt activated.  I was definitely getting a work out.  By the middle of the work out, I found myself smiling, because I was really and truly enjoying myself.  Right about tricep  push up time, my smile was wiped from my face and replaced with determination.   I was working my tail off, but that is the point.

The music was good.  But, I could not even tell you what songs were playing because I was focused.  I was consciously thinking about my form and activating muscles and breathing… and trying to sweat less.  At times, it took me a second to figure out the timing and motion of an exercise, but always caught on eventually.

Some of it just gave me that lovely burn.  Other sets were more difficult for me.  I especially struggled with the triceps, lunges, and planks.  By the end of the class, my muscles were shaking no matter what move I was doing.

The teacher was nice and encouraging.  After class I even felt comfortable enough to ask for some advice about my lunge form.

The Verdict

I loved it!  I will do it again as soon as possible. I managed to get someone to go with me, though about 5 other people declined an invite.  She liked it too! We both felt a little like jelly afterward.

I would definitely recommend that you give Body Pump a try, and not just if you love weight lifting.

Everyone should do some form of strength training.  Strength training is extremely beneficial for our bones.  It gives our metabolism a boost and helps us burn calories.  It will impact the shape of the body in ways that cardio alone can not.  It makes me feel stronger, which in turn makes all of life better because I can walk through life more confidently.

Maybe the whole idea of this class sounds like torture. If may not be for you.  (Zumba sounds like torture to me!) Maybe you would do better with resistance bands and a few free weights in your living room.  I would just encourage you to try classes or workout routines until you find one that works for you ( I do not mean is easy for you, because challenge is the only way to improve).

In the mean time, I am pretty sure I am going to be sore tomorrow.  I’ll probably whine about it a little bit, but that won’t stop this body from pumping again.

15 Responses to “Body Pump Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In the Dark « weightsandmeasures - April 12, 2011

    […] I got home from work I was intent on getting to bed early.  I was all motivated to go to Body Pump Tuesday morning at 5:45am.  You know I liked the class if I was willing to get up that early for […]

  2. Spin Class Review « weightsandmeasures - April 12, 2011

    […] morning I went to a different location of my gym specifically to take Body Pump.  That is what motivated me out of bed at 4:45 am.  That is also what motivated me to drive the […]

  3. From Pageantry to Poetry, Peanut Butter, Pizza, Popcorn, and Potential « weightsandmeasures - May 2, 2011

    […] Burger was eyein’ my salad at lunch, but I do Body Pump, so no one messes with […]

  4. Circle of Food « weightsandmeasures - May 4, 2011

    […] Body Pump tomorrow, and I mean it this time! I also plan to run for a while and maybe spend a little time on the elliptical. Ambitious… maybe. Doable… absolutely! […]

  5. A Day I’d Eat Again « weightsandmeasures - May 6, 2011

    […] Body Pump at 10am tomorrow! […]

  6. Oatmeal Magic « weightsandmeasures - May 10, 2011

    […] Oatmeal Magic Posted on May 10, 2011 by weightsandmeasures Even the quaint sound of bells can be startling at 4:45am.  But, with my golden ticket in hand, I had reason to get up so early to make it to 5:45 Body Pump. […]

  7. Afternoon of Pride « weightsandmeasures - May 15, 2011

    […] Body Pump early tomorrow morning! […]

  8. I Don’t Discriminate « weightsandmeasures - May 17, 2011

    […] are the two mornings I choose to wake up insanely early (4:45) to be out the door by 5:00 for 5:45 Body Pump.  If you have not gotten the picture yet, I really do love Body […]

  9. Carrot Trials « weightsandmeasures - May 20, 2011

    […] work I worked out… 30 minutes of elliptical and 45 minutes of my best Body Pump […]

  10. Wrapping Up the Weekend… Late Edition « weightsandmeasures - June 21, 2011

    […] Monday – Body Pump […]

  11. Lunchtime Ramblings « weightsandmeasures - July 26, 2011

    […] Body Pump, Oh Body Pump, how you hurt… in a good way of course. After two weeks away from Body Pump, I paid for it last Monday.  I felt like I was walking around like the Tin Man, in need of some oil.  Due to the above metioned exhaustion, I traded my second BP class last week for a bike workout on the trainer instead. It worked wonders, loosening my tight muscles and getting blood flowing through my tired legs. […]

  12. All Before 7:30 « weightsandmeasures - August 18, 2011

    […] has become my habit.  It all started with a desperate desire to work Body Pump into my schedule. My enjoyment of that class was enough to motivate me out of […]

  13. Untimely Wind « weightsandmeasures - August 25, 2011

    […] is my last night working at the gym, I think.  Which means, goodbye Body Pump, but also goodbye running from one job to the next on Thursdays.  For now, I will not have a gym […]

  14. A Little Backwards, A Lot Hot « weightsandmeasures - August 28, 2011

    […] starts Monday morning after my final Body Pump in who knows how […]

  15. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler « weightsandmeasures - August 30, 2011

    […] BODY PUMP […]

Leave a Reply

