I am not trying to lose weight…

9 Apr

That may sound like the most ridiculous, maybe shocking, statement to come from the mouth of a person who recently lost 40 pounds.  Especially from a person who needs to lose more, and is presently writing a blog about fitness and food.

It is the truth though.  I want and need to lose weight.  But, losing weight is not my goal.

It was my goal for about two weeks. Two very stressful weeks.  Two emotional weeks. Two miserable weeks.

When this journey began it was not the goal and today it is not the goal.  The Lord initiated what is happening in my life. I continue to let Him dictate the focus and it has made this process rewarding, empowering, and life-giving.

It is my genuine desire to serve the Lord with my whole life, my whole heart.  I have prayed countless times for Him to guide and direct my steps to accomplish His will, telling Him that I would go and do whatever He asks.  But, the reality is that I honestly could not go and do whatever He willed.  Physically, I was out of shape.  I was undisciplined. I was insecure. This was motivation to me to make a change.

However, I was in no way strong-willed enough to make the kind of changes that would be necessary.  The Lord showed me Galatians 5:22-23, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” From this verse I took two main ideas: 1. If I have His Spirit in me, then I should have self-control.  2. I am not expected to be able to do it on my own.  I can ask and trust God for help in this area. He is the source.

Wowza! That rocked my world.  I went from feeling life a lazy and undisciplined loaf, to a humble daughter asking my Father for what I need.  I was amazed.  It all made sense.  How many times do we try to accomplish what we can not do in our own strength?  It breaks God’s heart.  He never asked us to do it alone.  He does not want us to do it alone.  He wants us to deeply and desperately rely on Him, so that in our weakness He will once again be shown strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

I began to understand that God has always provided food.  In the Garden, Adam and Eve had an abundance of choices.  I began to consider the intent of that food.  Why did God create food?  What is the purpose of food?  In reality food is fuel.  We need food for energy.  We can not live without eating.  But, in our industrial society food is no longer just plants and animal. We have packages with long lists of ingredients, including dyes and preservatives, that we now consider “food”.  We don’t even know where, who, or how those products came to be.

I began to look at food choices and ask myself, “Does this fuel me or just fill me (or even just make me feel)?” All of a sudden, food choices became much simpler.  I no longer felt like I was making sacrifices.  I was not giving anything up, I was just opting for something more beneficial.

In 1 Corinthians 10:31, we are encouraged to do all for the glory of God, including our eating and drinking.  When I think about the way I eat, I want to know that I have made wise choices, self-controled choices… ultimately choices that glorify God.

So, I am not on a diet.  I do not count calories (Mercy! I did that for 2 days and hated it!).  I do not subscribe to a dietary label.  Nothing is technically off limits.  I can choose from absolutely everything.  But, that is the reality, I, and I alone, choose.  I take complete responsibility for what I eat, because I realize that what I eat has the potential to affect a lot of people, and my potential to “go and do” on behalf of my Lord.

Today, I walk in a new confidence.  It is rooted and founded in my new found inability and a deep sense of dependence. How opposite of what the world says it should be!

Losing weight is not my goal.  It is a product of accomplishing my goal.  My goal is simple… to live a healthy lifestyle and make healthy choices.  That gives me a lot of opportunities every day to accomplish my goal.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.

Sometimes, I have to ask for help to make choices.  Sometimes, I have to pray in the middle of a run because I want to quit.  The reality is that when we acknowledge our weakness and our dependance, God shows up big time.

In no way do I assume that everyone or anyone will make the same choices that I have. We all must do that for ourselves.  I do know, however, that God does not just afford unto me the blessing of His faithfulness and gentle kindness.  Just as He offered it to me, He offers it to you.

So, I’m not trying to lose weight, but I still do.

I am not a medical or dietary professional.  This post is not intended for use as dietary consulting.  Please consult a professional to determine a plan for your own weight loss.

One Response to “I am not trying to lose weight…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1… Cobbler « weightsandmeasures - August 30, 2011

    […] Losing 55lbs through healthy eating and active living […]

Leave a Reply

