In the Dark

12 Apr

We had a crazy storm blow through in the middle of the night on Sunday, so I woke up without power on Monday morning.  I sincerely enjoy a good thunderstorm.  However, this was a window shaking storm that woke me up and actually made me wonder if the windows would be busting in any minute.

In the morning, I got out of bed, in the dark.  Made my way downstairs, in the dark. Poured a bowl of granola/Great Grains (measured first, of course, because I do love granola), in the dark.  Quickly opened and closed the fridge to retrieve the almond milk, in the dark. Quickly put the milk back, in the dark.  Remembered about that mango I wanted to eat, forcing me to once again quickly open and close the fridge, in the dark.  I sat down and ate my bowl of cereal, in the dark.

I guess you probably get the picture.  Literally, this picture was taken in the dark.  I probably should have taken this to the backyard for some light, but once the milk is on, all bets are off. So, this will have to do.

Remember how I just went to the grocery store Sunday night?  I started to worry about all those bags of frozen veggies thawing and then refreezing into massive veggie blocks. Even more so, I thought of the meat, cheese, and eggs that belong to my parents that would have even less time, since I let all the cool air out of the fridge with my mango needs. (Have you ever smelled rotten meat? I have. Trust me, it is a situation that drastic measures should be taken to avoid.)

We had no idea when the power was coming back, so I packed the contents of the fridge and freezer, my workout clothes, and my work clothes and made the trek to my sister’s house to load up her fridge with the contents of our fridge.

It was not a big deal to move all the food.  I just didn’t want to go through the hassle.  I figured that the minute I left the house, the power would return.

After unloading the goods, I headed out for a little run.  As soon as I stepped outside, I became suddenly very aware of the wind. The temperature was nice though, so I gave it a try.  I walked a little while to warm up and decided in my head where I would start running.  I actually felt pretty good once I started running.  Without the wind, I think I could have run for quite some time. But, the wind eventually wore me down and I had to walk.  I ended up walking about 50% of the 3ish miles.

It was after lunch time and I was hungry, so I kind of went too easy on myself.  I probably could have pushed harder, but didn’t.  Since I was at the Kranner’s, I took advantage of their blender again and made a smoothie in a bowl (SIAB) for lunch.

You see how green that is? Culprit? 2 big frozen spinach chunks. It definitely had a spinach taste, but I did not mind. You see how gritty it looks? I had some frozen pomegranate arils and decided to throw them in… mistake.

In this mix was 1 cup frozen pomegranate/blueberries, 1 frozen banana, 1 cup almond milk, 3 T raw rolled oats, 1 T chia seeds, 1 T unsweetened cocoa powder, and 2 monster chunks of frozen spinach.

It was still good, even though I had to chew it a bit because of the pomegranate seeds in there.

As I worked on a few things on the computer (researching heart rate monitors), I reflected on my run.  Then the thought occurred to me that I had about 30 minutes that I could go back out and do something with.  I had not showered for work yet.  What was stopping me?

So I laced my shoes backup and headed out for another 2(?) miles of walking.  My goal was to enjoy the walk.  I was walking fast, but I was not out to break any records. I was just out to be out.  It flew by and I really did enjoy it.  I let my mind wander a while, and then focused on praying.  It was a productive time. I felt vindicated.

I had to get ready for work, and ate a quick light meal, since it was so early. A bowl of Pacific roasted red pepper and tomato soup and some red pepper with Sabra roasted garlic hummus. (Kind of redundant, but light and yummy.)

On the way to work I ate a cherry pie Larabar, knowing it would be 5 hours before I could have anything to eat again.

When I got home from work I was intent on getting to bed early.  I was all motivated to go to Body Pump Tuesday morning at 5:45am.  You know I liked the class if I was willing to get up that early for it!

I had a small bowl of granola with almond milk and a bit of unsweetened coconut and homemade Nutella on top.  I also had some cashew pieces.

I was in bed around 9:40.  I laid there just long enough before falling to sleep to recognize how genuinely tired I was and that I was extremely comfortable laying there.

So about that 5:45am Body Pump

2 Responses to “In the Dark”

  1. Christina April 12, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I am so glad that we live close enough for you to be able to frequent our house (whether we are there or not)!!

    I am so proud of your choice to go back out for those extra couple of miles!!

    • weightsandmeasures April 12, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Little did you know that I was moving in for that afternoon! Did you notice I stole that Larabar? I’ll replace it.

Leave a Reply

