The Early Bird Gets Second Breakfast

13 Apr

I was so proud of myself for rolling out of bed at 4:40 am on Tuesday and into the workout attire I set aside the night before.  (Always set yourself up for success by being extra prepared for an early workout to eliminate excuses!)

I went downstairs and toasted a piece of bread from a loaf that I thawed out overnight.  I found this bread at Costco, and it is 100% Danielle-approved.  The ingredients list is all real food and I got 2 loaves for $6! I ate one, and froze the other.

Have I told you that I love bread?! I do not trust people who say they just don’t like carbs… because they are obviously liars.  At least that helps me feel better about my enjoyment of them.

I adorned that toasty guy with a conservative ( I mean that) slather of pb and half of a banana.  Let’s just stop right here and celebrate 3 self-control victories… out of bed at 4:40, conservative pb, and only half a banana.

I did not want my stomach to feel like I swallowed a brick while I was working out, and I knew I would be coming home for second breakfast after the gym (those hobbits know what’s up).

I aimed to be out of the door by 5. I was actually gone before my dad, who wakes up that early every day.  I have no idea how he does it!

I was at the gym by 5:20, because I was not risking the class being full and I wanted to hop on an elliptical to warm up my sleepy body.  Like I stated in my review of spin class, I was really disappointed to discover that BP was on Monday, not Tuesday morning.  So I spun(?).

For second breakfast I made what I’m calling Pumpkin Pie 10 Grain Cereal

Serves 1

1/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain cereal

1/2 c. milk of choice (I used almond)

1/2 c. water

2 heaping T pumpkin puree

1/2 t pumpkin spice

1/4 t cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1 T maple syrup

tad of pure vanilla extract

1. Bring the water and milk to a gentle boil.

2. Add the dry cereal

3. Cook until almost all of the liquid is absorbed. Then add pumpkin, spices, and vanilla.

4. Stir in maple syrup.

On top I put 1/2 T ground flax and 1 T chopped walnuts… and a bit o’ pb.

This pretty much tasted like pumpkin pie.  It so was delicious that I thought about making it again this morning, but decided I would try something new with that pumpkin.  This will happen again though!

I got lost in blog writing land and before I knew it I had to leave the house in only 15 minutes to have lunch with my sister.  I had a pan of tofu in the fridge marinating and waiting to be cooked.  That would have to wait…

I did make a salad though, which I forgot to photograph.  It was pretty typical for me – spinach, red onion, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, vinegar and oil.  I also had a stack of carrot sticks.

I have been all about carrots lately.  When you have a craving like that there is no reason to deny it.  Maybe my body just wants some extra vitamin A. Can’t leave out the cleme”tiny” that I ate as well.

Around 2 I popped that tofu in the oven.  I based my recipe on Ashley‘s.

Italian Spiced Tofu

1 block tofu, drained, sliced into 8 pieces and pressed for 30 minutes

1/2 onion, coarsely chopped

2 1/2 T olive oil

1 T white balsamic vinegar

1/2 T parsley

1/2 T basil

1 T oregano

4 cloves garlic

pepper

salt

1. Cut the pressed tofu into squares.

2. Mix all of the ingredients together.

I marinated this in a baking dish for a couple hours, since I left the house.  30 minutes would do though.  I baked this at 350, but eventually turned it up to 375.  Mine took about 40 minutes to be a little crunchy on the outside.

This smelled wonderful while it was cooking. The Veggie-Burger actually thought lasagna was cooking in the oven. I will take that as a compliment.

I put this on top of 1/2 c. whole wheat pasta and some tomato sauce.

(That is a messy looking bowl.  Sorry!)

I had a square of mint dark chocolate, which I made last an unreasonable long time.

Then off to work I went.  It was a crazy busy night, so I did not really have time to be hungry at work.  I was when I got home though.  I ate the other half of my banana from breakfast and a piece of toast with the last of my homemade Nutella.  I told you it would not last long.  

Then I went to sleep before 10.  It was only reasonable though, since I started my day at 4:40 and did not take a nap.

I was psyched for BP in the morning, and for breakfast. Then again, I am always psyched for breakfast.

What about you?

What is your favorite meal? (breakfast, lunch, dinner, second breakfast)

Do you like to work out in the morning?

 

5 Responses to “The Early Bird Gets Second Breakfast”

  1. Ashley April 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Oh my! That is an early wake up call. Very impressive! That bread looks delicious and glad you liked the tofu. 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures April 13, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      The bread was such a great find. You know how costly bread can be if you have real food standards. 2 loaves for $6 was a steal!

      I like getting up early, but need a really good reason. Body Pump seems to be a good enough reason for me. We’ll see how long that motivation lasts.

      I ate some of the leftover tofu in a salad today. May have even tasted better. Have you noticed I use ALOT of your recipes? I try my best to remember to link them back to you. Credit, where credit is due…

  2. Rachel April 13, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Your hobbit reference cracked me up!

    • weightsandmeasures April 13, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      I do what I can with my limited knowledge of Lord of the Rings knowledge. What I do know is that they had a good idea.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Collision Has Been Detected « weightsandmeasures - April 14, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← The Early Bird Gets Second Breakfast […]

Leave a Reply

