A Collision Has Been Detected

14 Apr

WHAT A DAY!

It is still Wednesday, but this is one of those days where I want to get this all down when it’s fresh. By that I mean that I am a little wired because I was in a car accident today, so I have my foot propped up with ice on a bruise that is forming and I just brewed a fresh cup of peppermint tea (my favorite).  My throat feels like I was yelling all day.  Could that be from that crazy dust that flies out when the airbags deploy?

This day started like any other, with breakfast. It was a new one for me, and a good one.  Once again I used  a recipe from Ashley at The Edible Perspective.  She is my breakfast guru.  I’m getting more creative though, like yesterday’s Pumpkin Pie Cereal.

Today, I continued to use some of my pumpkin stash for Vegan Pumpkin French Toast, using that yumtastic bread that I showed you yesterday.

In between the pieces of french toast I spread a thin layer of pb and banana slices. I did the same on top.  I only used half a banana again! (Eating a whole banana is not bad.  I just like them so much that I am trying to ration my banana into two sittings.)

Just say yes to all things pumpkin. This was so yummy.  I really enjoyed the texture and the taste.  More please!

I ate early enough, around 7:30, to digest before Body Pump.  I got to the gym before class to get my legs warm on the elliptical.  They felt pretty loose after yesterday’s spin class.

BP went really well, except that I could not keep my balance during lunges. The problem seemed more exaggerated this time than last Friday.  I will just have to do more lunges to gain muscle control.

After class I wandered around the town a little, because I was unfamiliar with the area.  I was really working, well blog working.  I wanted to expand my dishes and backdrop options to improve the quality of the pictures of the food.  I’m trying.  I really am.

After hitting up a few stores, I found a few pieces for what I considered to be the right prices. I am so excited to let you see them.

By the time I got home I was hun-gry.  So, I whipped up a salad.

A bed of spinach. A sheet of shredded cabbage.

Duvet of red onion, green pepper, mushroom, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds. Finally, pillows of Italian Seasoned Tofu.  All was spritzed with olive oil and red wine vinegar.

This was a salad beast.  It was not too beastly for me though.  I do Body Pump.

Guess what came in the mail! A box from Crate and Barrel, AKA my Easter present from my mom.  I made a list of items I wanted to order and sent them to her via email.  We still get Easter baskets, but I asked for a few other things instead of the usual candy.  It was hard, but I did not open the box, even though she was not home.

Again, I was off in a hurry.  I went to meet Christina, my eldest sister, to go to the Fort Worth Running Co. for packet pickup for the Fort Worth Zoo Run on Saturday.  I did this race last year and I am primed and ready to demolish my time.  The fun part is we will actually run through the zoo, and you get a zoo ticket as part of your entrance fee!

I took along some snacks for the road and ended up needing them.  Carrots on the way there.  This is two whole carrots cut into sticks. Lovin’ carrots right now!

On the way home I ate some super protein trail mix that I put together.  This is cashews, walnuts, roasted edamame, soy nuts, raisins, and currants.

I liked the Fort Worth Running Co.  This was not a big store, but had some really cute running outfits and Moving Comfort sports bras. I did not go look at the shoes, but it looked like they had a good selection over there too.

I was interested in two things. 1. My race packet.

2. Looking at the Yurbuds that I researched online (I am not a big online shopper).  I bought the Yurbuds and I will have to review these after I give them a try. They guarantee that they do not fall out while running.  Only time running will tell.

I had a little time before church, and decided to treat myself to supper at Whole Foods.  I never made it to Whole Foods though because I got into an accident.  Everyone was fine.  No people went to the hospital, but 3 cars will be in the hospital shop for a while.

I was shaken up and shaking, but held it together enough to call the police as my car told me repeatedly that “a collision has been detected”, as if it would know and I wouldn’t. An officer eventually drove by and stopped.  Everyone involved was really nice and understanding.  Very quickly my car was on a tow truck and riding off into the sunset evening traffic.

I have a bruise on the top of my left foot (no clue how this happened).  Another lady bruised her forearms.  I felt terrible that she was now running late for an exam at nursing school.

I really did not see it coming, so I was relaxed when it happened.  I only heard the pop of the passenger side window airbags deploy and saw the dust fly everywhere.

You want to know what I was worried about, after checking on the other people? My big concern was whether or not I will be able to run Saturday.  Who have I become?

I am not sure what I will feel like tomorrow.  I know I am going to be kind to my foot.  I also know that God is my healer and I can trust Him.  I am amazed by God’s protection on my life in what could have been a much worse situation.

(insert other half of banana here)

I made it to church after all, with the use of my mother’s car.  I followed church up with two ramekins of cereal.

The first was Cascadia Farms Oats and Honey granola with frozen blueberries.

The second was the last of the Great Grains.

I am definitely ready for bed now.  My foot is cold and so is my tea. Until tomorrow… He’s good I tell ya! He is good!

8 Responses to “A Collision Has Been Detected”

  1. Ashley April 14, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Your breakfast looks outstanding! Thanks for the super sweet shout out! Oooh, race packet!! Fun! Good luck. Glad you were okay in the accident. 😦

    • weightsandmeasures April 14, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Wow thanks! I’m not much of a photographer. I’m figuring this all out as I go. That breakfast a tasty one!

  2. Albert April 14, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Sorry about your car!!! Sounds like it got t-boned. I’m glad to see you’re excited about running. It’s hard for me to get back into it since I’ve had an injury, but you are inspiring me! You should check out the farmers market in gp Saturday morning. Only one farmer (lol) but a few local food vendors. We got this mix of fava, garlic, artichoke and spices. It was so good over pasta. You can eat it by itself. The lady that sells it grows most of the veggies in her own garden. Sooo fresh.

    • weightsandmeasures April 14, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      It was more my passenger front + her driver front. It could have been MUCH MUCH worse. If my airbag had deployed I would be a mess.

      I went to the GP farmers market a couple weeks ago. It did not seem worth the drive to me, since it about 12-15 miles from my house. But I did see that they had some interesting vendors. It may be worth it to go on occasion.

      Running motivation can be tough. I am setting some new goals that should push me for quite some time. But that excites me. Running is not easy for me and it is not really fun yet. But, the challenge is worth it.

  3. Christina April 14, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    I am so glad that you are okay. God is so faithful. I love you…

  4. Rebecca April 15, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Your breakfast looks AMAZING (especially since I’ve learned to enjoy pumpkin). I can’t wait until you get to be my personal chef. It’s going to be lovely 🙂

    BTW – I’m going to go ahead and get that gym membership, probably next week. I figure it’s about time I do some sort of physical activity other than walking

    • weightsandmeasures April 15, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      It was really good! I will make it for you, but I will warn you that I eat breakfast early. I can’t wait to have someone to cook for.

Leave a Reply

