Getting in Gear

14 Apr

Since I will be lengthening my running distance in the coming weeks I am focusing on setting myself up for success.  That entails getting together the gear that will help me put into action the training plan that Iron-Jesse is putting together for me.

Uncle Sam was kind enough to give me back some of my money, and I allocated (budgeted money releases you from the guilt of spending) a portion for this purpose.  I’ll be honest, it is hard for me to spend money these days.  But, I have choose to trust God.

So, here is my shopping list…

– heart rate monitor

– new shoes (I go through a pair about every 6-7 months)

– new sports bra (for some of us, this is a bigger deal)

– earbuds that won’t fall out

– new music to motivate/entertain

Heart rate monitor

I have been emailing my sister, Christina, back and forth about a heart rate monitor for weeks.  She has a Garmin and really loves the data that she gets from it.  I believe Jesse says that she is addicted to it.

She is letting me borrow her Garmin for the race on Saturday, so I will be able to see how I like it.  I think that I will let it sell itself to me.  If I like it, I will get it. I have been looking at some Polar models online too though.

Shoes

I have a little wear left in my shoes, but not much.  I am really tough on shoes.  Since I have flat feet, I can not just go to the wall of running shoes and grab a pair like many people do.  However, no one should go to the wall and grab a pair.

I would recommend that everyone who will be walking or running a lot go to a running store and let them help you find the right shoes for you.  They will do a couple “tests” to determine the shoe for you. I did this and it has made ALL the difference for me.  In DFW, I would suggest The Runner, Luke’s Locker, Fort Worth Running Co.  There are others, but these are the ones I have been to or know are good stores.

Since I need “special” shoes, I pay more than I’d like.  Since I do not want my shoes to look like grandma shoes, I pay even more.  (I think we are all allowed a little vanity and I do not want something like ugl(ier) shoes to detour me from running) I usually wear Brooks Ariel, but after 2 pairs of these I think I may give another brand a try.  I will have to go to the store and try some on though to know which feel like a natural extension of my foot.

Sports Bra

Sorry guys (if there are any guys who do read), I’m about to talk bras for a minute. You can skip to the “Music” section.

Wearing a well-fitting and supportive sports bra during exercise is so important.  It will greatly increase your comfort level.

I tried on a few from Moving Comfort yesterday and was impressed.  They did not have my size though, so I will have to take care of that online too (bleck, internet shopping).  I am just not driving back to FW for that.

I know some of you can go to Target and get a bra… I can’t. If you have a larger chest like me, wearing the right bra is really a gift to the entire world. (Can I write that off as charitable giving?)

Earbuds

I mentioned yesterday that I bought Yurbuds. I am really excited about giving these a try.  They boast some mighty things, so I have some expectations going into using them.

As I laid in bed last night I remembered that I meant to double check that they are water proof.  I do not think that the model that I purchased are, so we will see how long the actual headphones last. The buds themselves can be attached to any set of headphones though. So, I can replace them as needed.

Motivating/Entertaining Music

Now here is the part that I need help with. I like music but I am not one who pursues music.  It kind of comes into my life on its own. So, I need some major assistance in the workout playlist area.

I am asking for your help.  Please leave a comment with your favorite workout song, artist, entire playlist… (I do have some high standards about content, though.  A good beat does not justify streaming filth directly into my brain.) Then I will compile a playlist and may even share the completed product.

Please help!

2 Responses to “Getting in Gear”

  1. James April 15, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    One Night in Bangkok by Murray Head. Good speed to work out to, and what other songs are there in the world that glorify the international intrigue of professional chess?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Need to Seize « weightsandmeasures - April 15, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← Getting in Gear […]

Leave a Reply

