Need to Seize

15 Apr

I had every intention of sleeping in a little later on Thursday, due to Wednesday’s somewhat dramatic conclusion.  The goal was to gauge soreness and rest. But, my body was ready to get up at 6am, and there is really no fighting it.

Since I was up early and did not have any rushing plans I made a buckwheat bake in the oven, which takes a whole 30 minutes.  That is a long time in Breakfast Hungerland. I knew I wanted pumpkin and I knew I wanted fruit, but not a banana. (Say what?!)

I came up with this little diddy.

Pumpkin-Apple Pie Buckwheat Bake 

Serves Me

1/4 c. buckwheat groats ground into flour

1 T raw buckwheat groats

1 T chia seeds

1/2 T chopped walnuts

1 t pumpkin spice

1/2 t cinnamon

1/4 t baking powder

1 packet Stevia

1 flax egg (1 T flax ground + 2.5 T water + sitting on the counter for 5 min)

2 T milk of choice (I use almond)

1/4 c. pumpkin

1/2 c. chopped (as small as you want) apple that had been peeled and cored

1. Preheat the oven to 350 and grease a mini pie pan or personal crock (I greased mine with coconut oil.)

2. Grind the flax and add the water.  Allow it to sit for 5 minutes, or until all the liquid is soaked up.

3. Grind the buckwheat groats and combine that in a small bowl with all of the other dry ingredients.

4. When the egg is ready. Combine the egg, pumpkin, and milk.

5. Add all of the dry ingredients into the wet and stir in half of the apple.

6. Put it all in the pie dish and add the other half of the apple to the top, pressing it in just slightly.

7. Bake for 30 minutes.

What is that atop? That would be the beauty of 1 T of pb that spent 30 seconds in the microwave, which made it drizzlable. (BTdub… that is a new plate.  Clearance at Pier 1!!!)

Want to see the inside? I thought so.  The buckwheat groats and walnuts give texture and crunch.  The apples added sweetness and chewy.  This was yumtastic!
See my new cup back there? (Big Lots)  I needed a little “Seize” in my life, and I do not just mean that cup o’coffee.
I spent the morning making and checking off a “To Do” list. Then I made this soup from Melomeals.  Soups require a lot of chopping and simmering. but are great make aheads and keep arounds.
I did not have sweet potatoes, so I used carrots.  (I have almost eaten 2 lbs of carrots in the last week.) I also did not have a pepper or cilantro.  I tweaked the spices a little too.  Added a bay leaf and extra cumin.  Maybe a couple other small things.
That little bowl filled me up. Maybe it was the barley?  I had never cooked barley before.
Then it was off to get a rental car.  Everyone in this process has been so helpful and so kind.  It really makes the trauma situation easier to handle when people go out of their way to be nice.
Thanks Mom! She gave up her lunch break to take me.  I, in turn, gave her a big bowl of soup.  She said she likes it.  (Jiff ain’t got nothin’ on my mad skills!)
When I came home I made this failure.
It is Peanut Butter Sandwich Bread, which I saw on Eat, Live, Run but I decided to use oat flour instead and only make 1/4th the recipe.
It pretty much falls apart the moment you touch it, and tastes only good, but not mind boggling like I hoped. Stick with Jenna’s recipe if you want to give it a shot.
This is the part of the day where I started getting overwhelmed by life. I was looking at classes online and realizing how many hours a day I would be in class all summer.  I also remembered how much it costs to go to school.
I graduated with my BS in Early Childhood-4th Grade Education in December of 2007.  That was 3.5 years ago.  Apparently, that was enough time for me to forget how expensive life as a student will be.  Oh Lord, how I need you!

Between the decision to make pb bread and feeling overwhelmed, I think that a workout would have fit perfectly into my day.  However, I did not want to irritate any soreness from my accident that was yet undetected.  So, I didn’t.
All day I felt tired and lazy.  Today I feel tired and lazy (even though I slept plenty) All the more reason to go to the gym today.  I know I will feel better after.  Can’t hit it too hard though, because I have a race in the morning. I really am so excited!
When I returned home from work I had another bowl of soup and some Archer Farms Organic Blue Corn Tortilla chips.  The soup was now really thick and dippable.  I also had grapes (too many) and a piece of pb bread.  Frankly, this was too much for a supper at this hour, but I let emotion, stress, exhaustion do more dictating than my self controlled mind. But…
Today is a new day, and I will make the best choices today that I can.  I will seize today, by seizing Christ.  All other things fall into line when I focus on Him.  And, I’ll go to the gym.  And maybe take a nap…
Did you know you can subscribe to my blog so that you can be notified by email each time I post? You can do so on the right side of the page.  

Also, please check out last night’s post, “Getting in Gear” and leave a comment with your favorite songs to work out to.  I am in desperate musical need. 
Leave a Reply

