Wake Up Call

18 Apr

Yesterday was Palm Sunday, in remembrance of  the day when Jesus rode into the city of Jerusalem on the back of a donkey while the masses welcomed Him.

That was not what was on my mind when I was woken up only 30 minutes before I needed to leave, by my 13 month old niece who dialed and then hung up her mom’s phone.  That was not on my mind when I noticed the soreness in my lower back (maybe I need those new shoes a little earlier than I thought).  That was not on my mind when I felt some overall achiness in my body. But those things were not stopping me from going to church.

I am so glad that I put some overnight oats in the fridge after getting home last night.

I put 1/3 c. rolled oats, 1 c. unsweetened almond milk, 1.5 T ground flax, 1 T unsweetened shredded coconut, 2 T pumpkin puree, dash of pure vanilla extract, 1/4 t pumpkin spice. In the morning I drizzled 1 T melted pb atop.  I took along a cup of ice water and a mini cherry pie Larabar (one of my favorites.  The Larabar was to eat about midway through service when I start getting really hungry.)

Lunch consisted of the last of the Southwestern Vegetable, Barley, and Black Bean soup and a salad and a few blue corn chips, which I crunched periodically into the soup.

The salad had a base of spinach and cabbage with cilantro, tomatoes, red onion, cauliflower, broccoli, and sunflower seeds with white balsamic vinegar and a mist of olive oil. I love a complicated salad!

About half way through church I realized I was not feeling very well.  What is going on with me feeling sick on Sundays? So I spent the afternoon watching movies on TV, while wearing sweats and snuggled with my favorite blanket.

Throughout the afternoon I had both a clemen”tiny” and a small apple.  I felt hungry all afternoon AGAIN! So, I had a small ramekin with the bottom of a box of Cascadia Farms Oats and Honey granola with unsweetened almond milk.

Supper was all veggies.  When I lived in Nebraska, this was a typical thing for me.  I have gotten away from that, but need to do it more often. I love vegetables, so it is still a satisfying meal for me.

I had 1/2 c. edamame + 1 c. chopped broccoli drizzled with a sauce made of honey, sesame oil, and soy sauce. The summer squash was sprinkled with sea salt, basil, and oregano. (This is not a full sized plate.  It is between a side plate and a dinner plate.)

I have been guzzling fluids today… about 4 cups of tea and 4 large cups of water.  I’m watching Wizard of Oz and planning an early bedtime.

I want to be in Body Pump in the morning, but we will have to see how I feel.  Bleck… I hate feeling bad! I am so glad that the same person who rode into Jerusalem, finished the work of my healing only one week later!

Leave a Reply

