“Keepin’ it Rural”

19 Apr

I went to bed last night at 8 feeling pretty bad.  I felt bad enough to take Nyquil and call it a day.  I donned sweats, socks, a fleece, 2 down comforters, and a blanket… why yes, I did have a fever. I was actually quite aware of the very moment that the Nyquil kicked in and my brain went to mush.  Please note that I am not one to take over-the-counter medicines for just anything.

12 hours later… I made my breakfast.  Even feeling awful can’t detour me from making my favorite meal of the day.  I then thoughtfully assessed how I felt. I was not going to make any rash decisions.

Pumpkin and Apple Rolled Oats

1/3 c. rolled oats

1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk

1/2 c. water

1 small apple, grated

2 T pumpkin puree (I use Libby’s)

1/2 t cinnamon

dash of pure vanilla

1 T flax, ground

1. Bring water and milk to gentle boil

2. Add oats

3. When oats are almost cooked, add grated apple, pumpkin, cinnamon, and vanilla

4. Stir in flax when it is done

5. Add toppings (I added 1T chopped walnuts and 1.5 T golden raisins)

This bowl of oats was really good.  Instead of grating an apple, you could use a half c. apple sauce.

I was seriously tempted to add something to sweeten it or to add peanut butter, but I am exercising my self-control muscles.

After assessing the situation, and realizing that it took every ounce of my energy to take my oats to the backyard to photograph, I decided I would visit the doctor and call into work. That is a big deal, since I work hourly and giving up hours at work = giving up money.

I went to the doctor, where I was told there would be a 2 hour wait, but that they would call me when it was time.  So, I drug myself to Target.  You know I’m feeling crummy when I do not want to go to Target.

Target was followed by an expensive iced chai tea latte at Starbucks.  I was bemoaning having to spend money to go to the doctor.  It does not really make sense to spend money because you were upset about spending money, but I was sick.  I am pretty sure that spending $4 on a beverage was not the worst financial decision I could have made.

Let me paint a picture for you.. one you are glad that you did not see.  My face may have been completely make-up-less.  My hair may have been unbrushed.  I may have had on a shirt that said, “Keepin’ in rural”.  I may have had a fleece zip-up jacket on, though it was quite a warm day.  I am not saying that any of those things really happened.  I am just saying they may have happened. To say the least, I was not wearing a sign on my forehead that said, “Please talk to me.”

By the time I actually saw the doctor, I was wishing I had just stayed home.  Was this really going to be worth it?

The diagnosis… upper respiratory infection.  The treatment… 10 days of antibiotics.  I’ll let you know then if it was worth $120.  That is how much this day cost me… missed wages, doctors copay, antibiotics, chai latte, box of tea, can of soup, and gas.

When I am sick, I have some odd cravings…Today it was banana pudding with Nilla wafers, popcorn, Chick-fil-A… but I managed to settle on a healthier desire…

An orange as an appetizer.

We have been told that oranges are the best source of Vitamin C and that is the key to getting over a cold.  Well, there are a lot of foods that have vitamin C, and many of them are better sources than oranges.  Such as,  broccolibell pepperskalecauliflowerstrawberrieslemonsmustard and turnip greensbrussels sproutspapaya, chard, cabbagespinachkiwifruitsnowpeascantaloupeorangesgrapefruitlimestomatoeszucchiniraspberriesasparaguscelery, pineapples, lettuce, watermelon, fennel, peppermint and parsley. Source

For a second course, I had some Sabre Roasted Garlic Hummus and black bean pico de gallo with some carrot sticks and a few Archer Farms Organic Blue Corn and Flaxseed tortilla chips.

To round out my lunch I had half of a can of Amy’s Organic Lentil and Vegetable soup, with some chip crumbs on top.  Soup is a given when your sick.  Since I had to go to Target again to get my prescription filled, I picked up a can of soup and a box of Celestial Seasonings Peppermint Tea.

For supper I had the other half of the can of soup and an oatmeal snack bar.

I did not take a picture of it, because it was ugly and I consumed it.  It was kind of an indulgence… 1/4 c. rolled oats + 1 square of dark chocolate(melted) + 1 T pb(melted).  I stirred that all together and put it in the freezer for 10 minutes.

I would seriously eat oats 3 times a day, but I don’t.  I have been trying to limit my pb and banana consumption.  I am getting better.

Today of all days food choices were hard.  I could have just given into the desire for Chick-fil-A.  I could have easily made some banana pudding.  But, I didn’t.  Each time I make a choice like that I feel like I get stronger.

So, on a day when I was not feeling strong at all, I feel like I still grew.

BTW, the insurance company totaled my car, so I will be in the market for a car.  I don’t question what’s happening.  I know God is in control. Even when I have to spend $120 in one day…

After writing this I had a banana and a bit of dry cereal from the box… 

2 Responses to ““Keepin’ it Rural””

  1. Christina April 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Did your rolled oats, chocolate, and PB taste like a no-bake cookie???

Leave a Reply

