Transparency on the Move

19 Apr

Warning: If you feel especially uncomfortable with transparency, then this post is not for you (or maybe for you all the more.)

I have very specific intentions behind WeightsandMeasures.  I am not trying to convert you to a way of eating.  I am not pretending to be a nutrition or fitness expert.  I am not trying to condemn you for the way you eat or live your life.

My goal is this… to be open, honest, and transparent about the day-to-day reality of living life while facing choices concerning food and fitness.

I hope you see a person who in all humbleness approaches her computer daily to write for you (and for myself).  I write not to gain a large following, though if that happened I would not be upset.  I write because I know what it feels like to be overweight, ashamed, out of shape, lost, scared… I know what it is like to be all too normal for an American. I write because I am on a journey of hope, healing… a journey of health.

Transparency has not always been easy for me.  For many years, my insecurity caused me to try to hide my faults.  It made me unapproachable and to appear arrogant. Neither was intended.  I was afraid of being rejected.  People saw someone who thought she was better than everyone… that could have not been farther from the truth.

So, here I am now.  I desire to hide nothing. I want you to know that who you read everyday is the real me.  I’m flawed. I’m human.

With that being said…

I want to talk about why I run.

I spent 24.5 years saying that I could not run.  Words are powerful, people… and those words powerfully kept me from ever trying to run.  I have talked about my antics to avoid exercise as a child. (I sure did lie to the coaches in PE, telling them I had a grass allergy to get out of playing kickball.)

But, as an adult those words stuck fast. It was not until I walked my first 5k and saw hundreds of people finishing the same distance but 2, 3, and almost 4 times as fast as me that I started to understand the possibilities.

So, I started to try to jog.  Boy howdy was it uncomfortable!  I was 215 lbs. at the time, and that is a lot of person to propel forward with any amount of speed.  When I first started trying to run, I could only put the speed at 4.4 mph on the treadmill. (Mind you, my sister Christina would be on the treadmill next to me walking at 4.6mph and running faster than that.)

The reality is that as I have gotten lighter and my skeletal structure and respiratory system have adapted, running has gotten a bit easier. It is still not easy.  I would not call running fun… yet.

So, why would I choose to do something that is not fun and sometimes uncomfortable? Because I can.  I can run. Because I can, I want to run.  I want to know how far I can go.  I want to know how fast I can go. Every time I run, I am doing something that I used to think was impossible.

There are benefits to running.  (Hello, runners legs!) Every time I run, I get closer to realizing them.

Maybe running is not the thing that you have always thought was impossible.  There are a lot of things that it could be. Don’t take me so literally and let your mind wander through your life a little bit.  What have you said was absolutely impossible?

Can you think of a way to move yourself closer to making that possible? You may have to make sacrifices.  It may be uncomfortable.  It may even be scary.  (The first time I jogged on a treadmill I was terrified. )

That is why I choose to run.

What impossible thing are you going to choose to do?

If you like what you read, please feel free to recommend me to your friends! You can subscribe to receive my posts via email on the right side of the page. 

5 Responses to “Transparency on the Move”

  1. Christina April 19, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Correction…I walk at 4.9!! ha. =)

    I am so proud of your ambitions to run. Can’t wait to see how far they take you!! (literally)

  2. weightsandmeasures April 19, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Thanks for being so faithful to read every day Chris! It does mean a lot to me.

  3. emily (a nutritionist eats) April 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    What an inspiring post! Thanks for your honesty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

