Behind the Seeds

20 Apr

As I was laying out clothes over my drying rack that seems to always be up in my room, I felt inspired to give you a behind the scenes look at WeightsandMeasures…

My poor, but generous and patient, parents put up with this day in and day out.  Often, I walk away from this at night and pick up the next day where I left off.  This chair is technically my dad’s… It has somehow turned into my “office”.  That blanket was given to me when I turned 18 by my sister, Christina, who bought me all new bed linens for my birthday that year. My computer is always nearby… I write on a Macbook clad in an applesac, when not in use.  That side table is full of books… all mine… a journal, Bible, devotional, calendar, and my Yurbuds (which I am preparing to write a post about.)

Bored yet? No?! Good.

This chair is where I usually take my photos of my food.  I, with food and camera, and linen in hand, go to the backyard to get some natural light.  I know so little about photography, but this really seems to be helping my photos (and they can really use all the help they can get).

Fruit basket! Have you noticed that I have not eaten a banana EVERYDAY lately?  Hence, the brown guys.  These will get sliced up and put in a container in the freezer.  Frozen bananas are a good treat, even better if you have a blender and can make soft-serve.

This is my coffee nut/seed/grain grinder. which I bought at Target for under $20.  (That was the allocated budget.) It works great, but I would not recommend grinding whole dried chickpeas.  Just trust me.

These were on the counter, so I thought I’d snap a shot.  These are the chips I have been eating on lately.  My mom knew I, and the rest of the family ,really liked them, so she bought more.  Oh no!  I asked her to hold off on replenishing the supply when these are gone.  But, if they want them around, I will just have to exercise self-control.

This is one of my pantry shelves.  A bit chaotic.  A bit contained.  A bit in need of replenishing.

This is my other shelf. That bag in the corner is full of boxes of tea.  It seems to have erupted.  Below it is my stack of backdrop linens.  I need a system.

This is my bed… Why do you need to see my bed? Well, the only reason I am putting it up here is that I rarely make my bed.  I did on Tuesday because I washed my sheets.  Yay clean sheets!  I have a rule that I must shower before getting bed if I washed my sheets that day.  Do you have that rule? (I know you are proud, Mom! )

This is actually what I came upstairs to show you… my drying rack.  I bought it at Ikea for $12ish dollars.  When I bought it I needed it occasionally, but now I use it all the time.  Because I wear black capris (which tend to fade) to work and work-out and I wear moisture-wicing tops to work out I hang dry these items.  I highly suggest you do the same with your non-cotton work-out clothes. They seem to hold their color better and last longer.  The side benefit, my room smells like Tide plus Febreeze.

These are the books that were beside my bed when I went up there.  I promise I did not stage this.  (No, I do not claim to be vegan.  We can talk about that later, though.)

Back to the books, I got all of these at Half-Price Books (except The China Study, which is borrowed)…. in one trip.  I have read all or most of them all.  Some are just for reference.  Can you tell what I am interested in these days?

Lastly, I will leave you with this… these are 4 out of 5 bibs that I have worn during races.  (Iron-Jesse has a whole room covered in medals. He would never do such a thing, but Christina is his biggest fan and the decorator of the house.)

These remind me of the progress I have made.  Each represents a point in time, a marker in my journey, a good memory… They are just pieces of paper, but they represent much more. They represent growth, improvement, and change.

So, that is a little bit of my world.  I am sure you learned something new about me.  If you see my parents, give them a hug.  They put up with a lot.

3 Responses to “Behind the Seeds”

  1. Christina April 20, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    This post made me smile.

  2. Christina April 20, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    And, I also must say that I am very pleased that my little icon thing is a pink design…hence the reason I do not feel the need to upload a picture! Ha…

Leave a Reply

