There are Worse Things I Could Do

22 Apr

Yesterday, I took an entire day away from my computer.  I would be a little embarrassed if you knew the exact amount of time that I spend writing, reading, and researching blog-related information each day.  I am completely aware that May 13th is on its way and when it arrives, the world will be shifting into school mode. Ok, maybe just my world. You can come along for the ride if you wish though… Then you will see me try to find a beautiful balance between all of the various aspects of my life.

I have about 30 things I want to write about this morning.  First things first… a glance at what this someone ate while she was sick.  And I do mean really sick.  As in, I actually called the doctor back twice to tell them, “I am not getting better.  In fact, I am pretty sure I am getting worse.” I may have missed 3 days of work and stayed home from church… it hasn’t been pretty around here.

Let’s shove aside the gallons of hot tea, water, and iced coffee I’ve consumed.  Let’s set aside the box of tissues (this is a big deal, since I go months without needing to blow my nose).  Now we have a clear table to talk about some food. This is the part where I try to upload a photo and realize that I have not even plugged in the USB cord from the camera to the computer. It’s ok to laugh.  I did.

Wednesday’s Eats

There are worse things I could do to the Veggie Burger than make her a bowl of carrot cake oatmeal using rolled oats and a whole shredded carrot with 1/2 banana and 1 T flaxmeal stirred in at the end.  Don’t forget the chopped walnuts to top.

No sweet needed, since I stirred in the banana.  The Veggie Burger enjoyed her bowl, though she could not finish it.  She is such a breakfast lightweight…  I am not.

There are worse things I could do than strategically not add pb to my breakfast, so that I could have it with an apple for snack.

I had 1 apple smeared with pumpkin peanut butter (1/2 T pb +3/4 T pumpkin puree + dash of cinnamon).  This is a good way to stretch the pb experience. It was also a revelation! I will be doing this again (by that I mean that I already did)

There are worse things I could do than drop this cute little ceramic condiment spoon from Crate + Barrel.  It was the first time I used it… and the last.

There are worse things I could do than take a trip to Sprout’s when I feel awful because I do not want to go another day without chia seeds… or miss double ad Wednesday.

Back row: bottle of Kombucha, 2 cans lite coconut milk, almonds, walnuts, raw sunflower seeds, raw pumpkin seeds, corn meal, quinoa (2 jars), chia seeds. Front Row: garlic, Ezekial sprouted grain tortillas , a few dark chocolate covered cranberries, 2 limes, 2 lemons, vanilla powder, turmeric.

5 grapefruit, brussel sprouts, alfalfa sprouts, soy creamer (new brand), kale, frozen cherries, red onion, 2 avocados, 2 yellow squash, 1 cucumber, 4 sweet potatoes, 2 portobella mushrooms.

I will not be the only one eating this food…oh my… if I even tried.

There are worse things I could do than eat two cornbread muffin cakes with my Homemade Tomoto Soup.

The soup was 1 can light coconut milk + 1 can random tomato sauce I had in the fridge that I accidentally opened one day.  The sauce tasted like soup to me, so I knew what I would do with it.  I also added some dashes of cayenne and basil. That is nutritional yeast on top, which literally made it perfect.  I got the cornbread muffin cake recipe from Ashley at edibleperspective.

There are worse things I could do than risk spending .55 on 5 potentially sour grapefruit. However, Texas did not disappoint!  It was sweeeet and I ate half of it.

Lots of liquids and a whole bag of kettle corn for supper… mind you it did have 8g of protein (hello, justification!).  But, when you are sick you eat strange things.  I put an insane amount of cinnamon on that popcorn.  Mind you, I am congested and can hardly taste.  

There are definitely worse things I could do than go with a boy or two than eat 280 calories worth of popcorn for dinner. 

Leave a Reply

