A Spoon-full Easter

24 Apr

Today is a special day… a very special day. It is Easter Sunday!

Jesus, my savior and redeemer, is alive! Because He lives, I live!

Thank you Father for the gift of your Son!

Thank you Jesus for your sacrifice on that cross that builds a bridge!

I am so grateful for the Power that raised Christ from the dead!

And I am thankful that Power lives in me!

Praise the Lord!

It is kind of funny what we do to honor holidays.

In my family, if it is a holiday, we have a tradition… or 10.

September 2010

My mom is the Queen of Hospitality. She is the most generous and thoughtful person that I know.  She is the best example of selflessness that I have ever witnessed.  If you tell me I am like my mother I consider it the highest of compliments!

So how does the Queen of Hospitality honor Easter?

With Easter baskets, of course, for all of four of her grown daughters, two son-in-laws, and granddaughter.

My great-uncle David has sent a box of candy every year for as long as I can remember all the way from Nebraska.  How awesome that my mom never had to buy candy for our baskets? The box usually arrives sometime the week before Easter, and there is an immediate sugar buzz in the air!

My mom always rationed out the best of the candy (Reese’s eggs, Cadbury eggs, Hershey’s bunnies, etc) and then the rest of the box was up for grabs (random malted eggs, Sweettart bunnies, jelly beans, marshmallow eggs).

We usually did some swapping.  When you are a kid, candy is like currency? Naturally some things are worth more than others. And, I am not just talking about chocolate coins, which are worth shockingly little.

When I was a kid When I ate whatever I wanted, I had much lower candy standards.  I would eat a little lot of a lot of things.

Today, I opened my basket and returned all but 3 things to the box… a small Reese’s egg, a Cadbury egg, and a carrot shaped bag of Reese’s Pieces.  You will find all three of these is a Ziploc freezer bag in the freezer.  Maybe they will be good enough to eat on my birthday in two months. If not, no big deal.

What else was in my basket?

Remember when that Crate + Barrel box that came a couple weeks ago?

The wait is over!

2 ceramic condiment spoons.

Spoon shaped cookie cutters (Why? I say, why not?)

A “tea” bag press

Ceramic measuring spoons (I ordered the measuring cups for myself)

Thank you Uncle David for the candy!

Thank you Mom for the wonderful gifts!

What did you do to make Easter special with your family? Do you still get baskets?

Want to know who else is thankful? Five year old, Gigi over at Peas and Thank You.  Take a look at this adorable post

3 Responses to “A Spoon-full Easter”

  1. Jen April 24, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    That handbag is adorable 🙂 Hope you and your family had a wonderful Easter.

    • weightsandmeasures April 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      We had a great Easter! I love any weekend that I get to spend time with them two days in a row.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Meals: 1 of 3 « weightsandmeasures - June 25, 2011

    […] topped that off with a mini Reeses egg, and 3 Reeses’ pieces. Remember that Easter candy that I froze? And… effectively ruined my dinner, in a totally worth it […]

Leave a Reply

