The Burger’s Birthday Bella

24 Apr

And so another day begins… with plans and hopes and dreams and pancakes.

Oat pancakes…

…with pumpkin chia pudding

…and a drizzling of peanut buttah.  I said it and I meant it.

The pumpkin chia pudding was only okay, but all together this was quite a de-light.

I got fed up with wearing capris and shorts that are two… literally two sizes too big, so I did it. I gave in. I bought one pair of shorts, one pair of capris, one casual dress and one pair of sandals. I feel much better now. Clothes that I actually want to wear!

Aren’t grapefruits beautiful?! This is only half of an enormous grapefruit, whose other portion was consumed later on in the afternoon.

Can you guess what is hiding beneath that wind blown linen? My waning patience? No, that was already gone.

Why, yes. This these are the exact same ingredients involved in yesterday’s wrap.  Yes, I did wash rinse and reuse the same plate for breakfast, snack, and lunch. No, I do not have any shame.

Lunch was delicious, but I was hungry again after a while.  I was meeting Ashley, a lifelong friends, at Starbucks.  I owed her a chai latte. This Clif Mojo bar was an all too delicious snack while I waited for her to arrive.

All day long I was strategizing. Our family was getting together for the Veggie Burger’s 22nd birthday, which is on Tuesday.  I was deemed the vegetarian chef of the night.  It is a heavy burden to make someone’s birthday dinner.

The only thing more important than the food was Leila, my niece. This little tot is always the center of attention! She is getting much more comfortable walking.  Any day now she will be unstoppable!

She quickly got tired of Aunt Dani trying to take her picture and decided to take things into her own hands.

Dinner is served! My mom is fancy and birthdays are a big deal, so she pulled out the fine china. Was my food deserving of fine china?

Grilled portabella mushroom with bulgur, stir fried vegetables, and a tofu steak drizzled with Averie‘s peanut sauce and a side of sweet potato fries.

Vegetarian fare for two! 🙂

For dessert, Mom made a sour cream cake with chocolate frosting…

This could test anyone’s resolve.  It tested mine. I racked my brain for a justification.

What if I just had a bite? A lick? I knew I would tell you the truth about it… BUT, I knew I would be disappointed with myself.

What was I thinking not having a back up plan?  I am usually so prepared!

I bolted to the kitchen and made a dessert of my own.

1/2 c. frozen cherries + 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk + 3/4 T unsweetened cocoa powder = a yummy good time

I still wanted the cake, but this was 100% guilt free enjoyment!

Easter morning is drawing nigh… so I settled into a comfy chair and a half while listening to the thunderstorm outside.  The Count of Monte Cristo, 2 small squares of Endangered Species Dark Chocolate with Mint and a couple mugs of decaf to round out the night.

Recipes

Grilled Portabella Mushrooms

1 mushroom per person

1. Brush or mist with olive oil and season with salt and pepper

2. Put on the grill gill side up for approximately 5 minutes

3. Turn over and grill gill side down for approx. 4 minutes

Tofu Steaks (based on this recipe)

1/2 block of tofu but into 4 slabs, pressed on paper towel under a cutting board for about 15 min.

1/8 c. low sodium soy sauce

1/2 t. sesame oil

3/4 t. honey

1 t. fresh grated ginger

1 clove garlic, minced

1/8 t. Tabasco

1/2 T olive oil

1. Mix marinade ingredients and pour into a shallow dish

2. Insert tofu slabs and marinade in fridge for at least 30 minutes

3. Preheat oven to 350

4. Place tofu on a cookie sheet and bake until crisp on outside, turn once after 20 minutes

Assembling the entire dish

You need the following ingredients

2 grilled portabellas

1 c. cooked bulgur

1 c. cooked stirfry veggies

2 tofu steaks

Averie‘s peanut sauce

1. Place mushroom gill side up on plate

2. Spoon on 1/2 c. cooked bulgur

3. Top with 1/2 c. veggies

4. Place tofu steak on top

5. Drizzle with peanut sauce

Serve with extra peanut sauce 🙂

I used the rest of the tofu in Sunday’s lunch.  This was so delicious! The sauce really makes the dish!

**This dish is Veggie Burger approved!

5 Responses to “The Burger’s Birthday Bella”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree April 24, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    ohmygosh!!! Your eats looks SO yummy!!! I want to make those pancakes (now that I can eat peanut butter again! )

  2. weightsandmeasures April 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Oh thanks! I used Ashley’s oatmeal pancake recipe, but I cut it all in half and left out the sugar. I do not think that it’s needed, when you top it with melted pb! http://edibleperspective.com/2009/12/oat-stacks/

  3. Jen April 24, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I’ll take that peanut buttah drizzle straight up please!!

    • weightsandmeasures April 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      I agree! The food beneath the pb is merely a mode of transportation, a very yummy mode of transportation.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unworthy Easter Eats « weightsandmeasures - April 25, 2011

    […] with roasted yellow squash and zucchini (sliced, olive oil, salt, pepper, 400 oven for 10 min) and Saturday’s leftover tofu steaks chopped into […]

Leave a Reply

