A Holiday Declaration

25 Apr

Why am I nervous to write this post? I’m the one who hyped it up… Geez.

I’ll get straight to the announcement.

I, Danielle Kracht have been putting something off (shocker?). I have been dancing around the bathroom scale for a while… avoiding really.

The Veggie Burger brought home a new scale the other day, and the next morning it called my name.

I stepped on, not really know what to expect.

I knew that anything under 174 was a big deal, because that meant that I was officially overweight (according to my BMI).

Why would I rejoice at being overweight?

Well, I began this journey at 215… aka obese (BMI of 36.9).

(I seriously hate this picture! )

I stared that scale in the eyes screen, noting that I needed to paint my toe nails.  The screen and my unpainted toes stared back unphased.

When all the numbers stopped blinking, I saw the number… 172.

Easter morning photo shoot with the Veggie Burger

I wasn’t shocked or surprised, but I was pleased.

That is why I am happy that I am overweight. Never, ever again, will I be obese. (Proverbial fist shaking in the air clutching a carrot banana)

Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not where I need to be in order to be considered a healthy weight.  I have no doubt that I will get there.  Nor do I think that the number that the scale says is the most important number. It’s not!

However, I do think that my body mass index (BMI) is an important number because when my BMI is not within a healthy range, my risk of many diseases is higher. And, I do look forward to the day when I can say that my weight and BMI are within the range of what is healthy for my height (under approximately 145 lbs).

So I, Danielle Kracht, by the power vested in me by the power of WordPress and the name of WeightsandMeasures do declare this day, April 25th, official Know Your BMI Day!

So, here’s what I want you to do…

1. Weigh yourself.  Please do not estimate or guess.  You may be close, but if you have not weighed yourself in a while, you may be over or under estimating your actual weight.

2. Look at your driver’s license to remember your height, and if you lied on your driver’s license, then use what you know your height really is.

3. Click on this link where you can input your height and weight into a BMI calculator.

4. Comment below and just tell me that you calculated your BMI!  No need to share your numbers 🙂

It could not be more simple!

Why is your BMI a significant number?

According to the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute our BMI is a good indictor of your risk of many diseases, including heart disease, high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes, gallstones, breathing problems, and some cancers.

9 Responses to “A Holiday Declaration”

  1. Christina April 25, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Oh, and CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so proud of you. You have already come so far, and I know the rest will be conquered! You are incredible!!

    • weightsandmeasures April 25, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you so much! You have been a great work out buddy and accountability through it all!

  2. Rebecca April 25, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    I understand why you don’t like that picture, but it shows how incredibly far you have come. You were beautiful then and you’re beautiful now. I’m just glad that you are healthy and, hopefully, you’re beginning to see the beauty we’ve all seen this whole time 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures April 25, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Well thank you! I need you to put (Veggie Burger) by your name. Just kidding… maybe.

  3. Lisa Whitman April 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Danielle,

    I am so very proud of you. You are an inspiration! 🙂 I checked my BMI; I have some work to do… Please talk a little about how you stay motivated and how you say no to cravings.

  4. Tiffany May 2, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Hey Danielle,

    Just wanted to say that you’re doing Great! I know you are aware of that and that tons of people are telling you that too, but I figured I’d chime in also. As one who has traveled the road you are, good job 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures May 2, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Oh, thanks Tiffany! Encouragement seems to come at just the right moments. I really appreciate it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hangry « weightsandmeasures - September 1, 2011

    […] unnecessary calories here and there. It was an incredible day when I was able to share with you the day I was officially overweight, instead of being obese. How much more exciting will it be when I get to share that I am once and […]

Leave a Reply

