A Fair Warning

27 Apr

Another day, another post. I am so glad you stopped by to read. I really do hope that you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing for you.

I had a 7am appointment to hand over the title and get a check for my totaled vehicle.  Too bad I woke up at 6:45.

I did make it there my 7:02 though and was back home by 7:32 to return the car to my Mom who needed to leave for work.  Not having my own transportation is a challenge.

The whole way home I debated whether I would eat breakfast or go for a run.  Breakfast won…

Overnight oats in a jar…

Serves 1

1/3 c rolled oats

1 T unsweetened shredded coconut

1 T chia seeds

1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk

1/2 c. water

I put all of the above ingredients in a waning pb jar and put it in the fridge overnight.

There were only trace amounts of pb left in that jar. Atop I sprinkled a couple chopped walnuts and about 1 T of granola for some crunch, in the morn.  I put a little vanilla powder in my coffee, which is why it looks weird.

After consuming the coffee, I noticed that I was getting a headache.  I generally avoid caffeine, but have really relaxed over the last 3 or so weeks.  It seems that caffeine will build up in my system over time and result in a migraine.

So not worth it!  So, I generally drink decaf. Lately, I have been drinking whatever is in the pot.

Having a headache made me want to go run even less.  I compromised with myself and decided that I would walk to the gym, which is only 1.5 miles away, use a spin bike for about 25 minutes and then walk home.

By the time I walked into the gym I was feeling pretty good, so I hopped on the treadmill at a slow 5 mph and felt really comfortable.

Half a mile later, I still felt good.  A mile in… I felt natural.  I was not forcing anything.  I was tempted to change the speed, but was in such a groove.

I ran 2 miles… 2 comfortable, natural, easy miles.

A lot of the blogs I read are written by runners who will make claims about “easy” runs.  To be honest, I was pretty convinced that they were just making that up.

I am so glad I did not do what I felt like doing today (staying home).  If I had, I would have missed out on a run that made me feel like I can really do what I have set out to do… become a runner.  When I finished my 2 miles, I audibly exclaimed, quietly, but audibly.

I walked home with pep in my step and a little strut too.  I told my legs that they will be the legs of a runner.  I just want them to be forewarned.

Upon arriving home I had to overcome my feelings again.  I was ready for lunch but needed to stretch desperately. Stretch I did… while planning what to eat.

I made a bowl of bulgar, tofu scramble, and hot sauce.
As it was warming, I started feeling a little odd… nauseous… dizzy.  I chalked it up to needing to eat.  I fought through long enough to photograph my lunch, but as I sat down to eat, it just did not sound good anymore.
I traded that delicious and nutritious lunch for about 20 blue corn tortilla chips, half an apple, a clemen”tiny”, and a bit of grapefruit.  That all settled well and I felt perfectly normal. No clue what that was!
Yesterday was the Burger’s 22nd birthday!  Happy Birthday Rebecca!
After work I was ready for that bulgar bowl…
and maybe a little chocolate cherry soft serve too…
That does not look so appetizing… but it was good. 1/2 c. frozen cherries + 2 T almond milk + 3/4 T unsweetened cocoa powder = guilt free yum
I have such fantastic friends!  Thank you Amber, Katelyn (Rachel), and Albert for giving me a shout out either on Facebook or on your blog!  Thank you so much for reading and supporting me!
2 Responses to “A Fair Warning”

  1. Sarah April 27, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I have seen a couple of different variations of oats in a jar before and still havent tried it. It looks so good, I just need to hurry up and finish my almond butter already 😉

    • weightsandmeasures April 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      I highly recommend them! Do you make overnight oats already? If not, then don’t wait for the jar, though the jar is a great addition. The possibilities are endless really!

Leave a Reply

