No Excuse

27 Apr

Some people read a book before bed or play Words with Friends or watch TV.  Often I read about running, or strength training, or recipes.  If I find a really good one, you may just find it laying beside my bed waiting for me to wake up in the morning.

As soon as I pop out of bed, I will grab the recipe, my phone, and my office (computer, Bible, journal, calendar, and camera) and trot downstairs.  I will do a lot of pulling from the pantry and fridge, measuring of this and that, stirring, preheating, and baking… all before sitting down to eat breakfast.

Last night I happened upon Anja’s Breakfast Oatmeal Bars, which I used as the launching pad for my own oatmeal bars, which include my favorite nuts, seeds, and dried fruits.

I am pretty anti-excuse.  But, as I am returning to school in a matter of 2 weeks I have been putting a lot of thought into how I will be maintaining healthy eating practices as life gets more busy.

Not everyone has time to watch scottish oats simmer for 25 minutes. You are probably busy in the morning, as I will be so very soon.

These oatmeal bars remove any and all excuses I may come up with to justify a convenient but less nutritious breakfast.

No Excuse Oatmeal Bars

3/4 c. rolled oats

about 1/3 c. chopped nuts and seeds (I used 1 T of each of the following – pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts, cashews, and almonds – all raw)

about 1/2 c. dried fruit (I used 2 T of each of the following – golden raisins, chopped dates, and currants)

2 T unsweetened dried coconut

2 T chia seeds

1/2 t cinnamon

1/4 t salt

3/4 c. milk (unsweetened almond milk)

1/2 t vanilla

1. Mix together all of the dry ingredients in a bowl.

2. Whisk together the milk and vanilla and pour over the dry.

3. Stir all of the ingredients together and let it sit in the bowl for 10 minutes, stirring once halfway through.

4. Preheat the oven to 375 and line a loaf pan with parchment paper)

5. Press the mixture into the loaf pan and use the back of a spoon to make it level.

6. Bake for 35-40 minutes

Allow it to cool for a few minutes in the pan and then turn out onto a cutting board. Slice it into 6 pieces while still warm. Eat warm or allow the bars to cool on a cooling rack completely before putting them into an airtight container.

Nutrition Info: 1 bar contain 168 calories, 8.9 g fat, 4 g fiber, 5.1 g protein

The combo of fat/fiber/protein will both give you energy and help you feel full longer.

For a family, I would recommend doubling the recipe.  Keep them in a container in the fridge and pull them out in the morning to reheat.  These would be super easy to eat in the car on the way to a soccer game or on the way to school.  Do not limit these to just a breakfast food. These could be eaten as a snack anytime!

The fat in these bars is all from nuts and seeds and the sugar from fruit.  Healthy fat and natural sugars! Two things that I never mind eating and you should love to give to your kids!

5 Responses to “No Excuse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sometimes Life Happens « weightsandmeasures - April 28, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← No Excuse […]

  2. A Day of Seconds « weightsandmeasures - April 29, 2011

    […] one minute I forgot all about blogging and took a bite of the No Excuse Oat Bar. Perfect for a second […]

  3. 5 Things That Made Me Smile « weightsandmeasures - May 5, 2011

    […] No Excuse Oatmeal Bars […]

  4. The Key « weightsandmeasures - August 23, 2011

    […] meant running home to change and eat something else before my workout. I had some oatmeal breakfast bars frozen in the fridge, which worked nicely as a […]

  5. Tomorrow « weightsandmeasures - September 12, 2011

    […] for what I actually need.  The only thing I bring that is in excess is tea bags. I knew that this oatmeal square was in my lunch to eat as a snack before evening class.  I wanted it all day long, but managed to […]

Leave a Reply

