A Day of Seconds

29 Apr

Body Pump has me wrapped around its little finger.  I love the challenge. Hence, I was pretty disappointed when it did not work out on Thursday morning.  Have no fear, there is always Friday… and apologizing to the Veggie Burger for my very bad attitude.

Before our jaunt to the gym I had a banana with a smear of pb. But no one in their right mid takes pictures of their food at 4:50 am. No one. I’m sure of that.

I did manage a workout of 20 minutes on the elliptical and about 12 on the treadmill. Nothing crazy, but still legitimate.

I brought my bad attitude home and put it back in bed for a couple of hours.

Upon waking the second time, I made second breakfast… I do love second breakfast.

For one minute I forgot all about blogging and took a bite of the No Excuse Oat Bar. Perfect for a second breakfast!

I have had a recipe for Sloppy Snobby Joes in my bookmarks for about a month.  I even bought green lentils for this recipe. This recipe worked is really good.  It definitely reminds me of the sloppy joes I grew up with. My mom’s sloppy joes are really the best. I think the key to this recipe is the maple syrup and yellow mustard added in at the very end. Perfect recipe for a family trying to eat less meat, but want to stick with familiar foods.

I finally cooked up those lentils and piled it on an Ezekial tortilla, because I did not have a bun.

I paired that with some raw veggies…broccoli, carrots, cucumber, and tomatoes.

Working in the evenings makes eating dinner complicated.  Do I eat early or late or both?

Spinach with sunflower seeds, walnuts, raisins, and coconut drizzled with red wine vinegar and a mist of olive oil… and a tortilla with pb and Crofter’s Superfruit jelly.

Work, work, work… followed by second dinner!?

Lettuce, crunched up blue corn tortilla chips, Snobby Joe, and chopped onion.  I am kind of a chopped onion lover. This was my version of a taco salad. Another childhood favorite that we often had on Saturdays.

I definitely brewed a pot of decaf coffee at 10pm, because I want iced coffee tomorrow and need to refrigerate the coffee overnight.

I also enjoyed a cup with a couple dark chocolate covered cranberries and a square of mint chocolate.

Dark chocolate + black coffee= perfect.

A day of second sleep, second meals, and second chances.

Guess who is going to a formal Royal Wedding watching party tonight?!  ME!

My friend Ashley is throwing a monster bash that I can not wait to attend.  Tea. Crumpets. A perfect night!

She lived in England for a semester and is all about throwing a British bash for all of her American friends. Does anyone else think that we are probably more excited than the Brits?

I will take pictures… well, I will try.

2 Responses to “A Day of Seconds”

  1. toasty redhead May 28, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Thank you for a great post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bring on the Rain « weightsandmeasures - May 3, 2011

    […] I had cut up cucumber, red pepper, and carrots to eat after work. I ate that… and a scoop of Snobby Joe… and about 20 tortilla chips… and two Trail Mix […]

Leave a Reply

