From My Heart to Yours

4 May

I was eager to share with you my workout today because it was a good one.  I challenged myself hardcore.  Hence, I’m feeling pretty hardcore all around right now.  By hard core I mean really hungry, because I am waiting for the Veg Burger to get home so we can go try a new restaurant.

Vegan restaurant in Arlington!? Who knew!? Not me!

Before I share my workout today, I want to share about what my workouts looked like when I first started going to the gym in December of 2009.

I had a defining moment while sitting with a large group of friends from college at a restaurant.  I had not seen some of these people in quite a while, so this was sort of a reuniting weekend celebrating the graduation of a few guys. I had/have such incredible friendships that grew out of the cramped spaces and brick walls of Guynes dormitory.

As I looked around the table that evening I thought, “All of these people deserve and will get more from life than me.  They are better than me because they are beautiful, stylish, in-shape, talented, athletic, etc.”

First, let me say that the devil is a liar!  That thought was definitely not from God, and should have been immediately rejected. (See Philippians 4:8 for what kind of thoughts we should all be having.)

No one deserves more from life than anyone else.  I do not care who you are, who you think you are, who your parents are, how much money you have, how talented you are, etc.

You and I have value.  We are each so valuable that Christ died to redeem us.  There is no more value than that. External beauty or internal health do not add any value to who we are as people.

My intention of joining the gym may not have been the healthiest, but I joined.

It was terrifying for me. I felt awkward.  So many machines that I knew nothing about (some I still know nothing about). I am very grateful to my sister, Christina, AKA the Teacher, who lovingly (and not so lovingly) challenged me to push myself.

She was there the first time I jogged on a treadmill.  She was there the first time I had guts enough to use the weight machines. She was there when I walked my first 5k.

I can not tell you if I would have done it all alone.  I can tell you I respect greatly those who do!

I was teaching 2nd grade at the time.  I was stressed. I was exhausted. I was miserable.

Workouts for me were short. Fifteen minutes on an elliptical and I was bored. Twenty minutes on a treadmill and my feet hurt. I would usually do about 30 minutes of cardio before I was just too tired to do any more.

A mile on the treadmill seemed like 10. Two miles seemed like I had spent an entire year on there.  Doing 3 miles… quite an accomplishment.

Weights were always easier for me.  I have always enjoyed lifting weights, so I did not mind spending 45 min to an hour.

I would see people pounding out 5 miles and think there was no way that I could ever.

The sight of someone pouring sweat for an hour on an elliptical seemed horrific heroic, yet coma-inducing.

When I moved to Nebraska, I did a lot of walking. The fall was beautiful, so I spent at least an hour a day enjoying the foliage.

Once winter arrived in full force, that was no longer an option.

In January, I  joined the town’s tiny gym, which was sponsored by the hospital. It had 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, 2 ellipticals, a circuit of weights, and free weights.  Tiny, but that was all I needed.

I had a lot of free time, which I wanted to use as wisely as possible.  So I did hours of reading, meditating on the Word, prayer, cooking, and time in the gym.  I went 5 days a week for 2.5-3.5 hours a day. A lot… I know.

My goal was not to lose a bunch of weight, though I was losing more than I realized at the time. My goal was to put the time to good use.  I knew that I had the gift of free time. I also knew that there would likely be no other time in my life where I could devote that much time to me, myself, and I.

Soon, an hour on the elliptical was easy.

I would walk miles and began to run.

The first time I ran a mile I felt as proud as if I had run a marathon.

The next Monday I ran 1.5.

The next Monday I ran 3.1.

Two weeks later I ran 6.2 (Cowtown 10k).

That was absolutely not the way to increase mileage.  Do not do this… It is recommended that you only increase your distance by on 10% each week to avoid injury.

What that unwise experiment did show me was that I was capable of doing things that I was not doing. That was a powerful revelation for me.

The Lord began to identify the lies and the self-doubt that I had believed for so long. As I began to believe the truth and rely heavily on the Lord for strength, I began to do more. I had the courage to challenge myself and risk failure.

Now, I do not expect or recommend that anyone do what I did.  I do not work out 3 hours a day any longer.  (Usually a workout for me lasts between 45 min and 1.5 hours, depending on a lot of factors.)

What I do recommend is that you do something.

If you already do something, then do something more.

Not necessarily more time.  It could be running farther or faster. Raising the incline while walking.  Choosing a route with hills.  Increasing the resistance. Increasing the weight or doing more reps. Trying a new activity or class.

The goal is to challenge yourself in a new way.

Do not settle for what you have already done.

You are capable of more than what you have already accomplished.

So today’s workout: 16 minutes (1.25 miles) on the treadmill (warming up and running), 35 minutes on the elliptical, and 60 minutes of Body Pump.

I know I will feel those lunges and tricep dips tomorrow, but isn’t that the point?

More than anything I hope you know… 

You are capable of more than you have done.

What you have or have not done does not define your value.  

You are worth more than you can imagine.

You deserve it to yourself, and to those you love, to treat yourself with value.

It’s worth the effort to live life intentionally.

From my heart to yours, 

Danielle

5 Responses to “From My Heart to Yours”

  1. Kate May 4, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    I never knew there was a vegan restaurant in Arlington! Was it any good?

    Have you tried the Potager Cafe in Arlington? It is not vegan, but it is farm fresh food and you pay whatever you think it is worth. It is amazing!

    And I totally agree with not increasing your mileage TOO much. I ran a lot of 5k’s (like Cowtown!) and then I decided to run a half-marathon 🙂 I finished and did awesome, but I hobbled around for a week afterward!

    • weightsandmeasures May 5, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      I will be doing a full write up about it tomorrow! Stay tuned!
      I have never been to Potager, but that sounds wonderful. I will definitely look it up and give it a try. There aren’t too many fresh restaurants around here, and WAY too many chain restaurants. I pulled a muscle in my foot after that 10k. I hobbled for a bit too. I am much wiser now! Do you have any races planned in the near future?

    • weightsandmeasures May 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Did you see my write up about the restaurant today?

  2. Christina May 5, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    This blog literally made me cry. I am so proud of you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Things That Made Me Smile « weightsandmeasures - May 5, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← From My Heart to Yours […]

Leave a Reply

