I’ve Got a Golden Ticket

9 May

Two posts in one day… it has been a while.  I am still finding my blogging groove. There are no rules to this and every reader has their own expectations.  But, I have to decided that I am going to write when and about what I think I should.  If you want to be part of the decision making process, I will let you know just when the WeightsandMeasures board meeting will be.  I’ll have to check my schedule, but it will probably be two weeks after never.

It was Mother’s Day and I pretty much failed as a daughter.  I need a do over.  I will be working to make it up to my mom.  In part, my sister’s and I are paying to have someone deep clean the house. That should help a little.

Have I mentioned how much I enjoy breakfast?  It likely has something to do with the fact that breakfast is generally carb based, and I am a lover of carbs.

You can not really tell in that picture just how purple those oats looked.

Blueberry and Banana Oats

1/2 c water

1 c unsweetened almond milk

1/3 c oats

1 T buckwheat groats

1 T oat bran

1 T unsweetened coconut

splash vanilla extract

1/4 t cinnamon

Bring to gentle boil over medium heat and cook until achieved desired consistency.

Toward the end of cooking, I stirred in 1/2 (pinched apart) banana and 1/2 c frozen blueberries..

After the cooking was complete, I stirred in 1 T of chia seeds.

Topped with 1/2 T Sunbutter and 1/2 T Crofter’s Fruit Spread.

Served with iced coffee.

Being Mother’s Day, the family gathered nigh. When family gathers, there will be food.

I grilled up some yellow squash, zucchini, sweet onions, yellow pepper, green beans, and mushrooms to share.

I also roasted a couple sweet taters that were tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne, cumin, and paprika. (I kept popping these guys in my mouth until they were gone, which is sad, because that means no leftovers.)

At some point last week I figured out that I could eat the Trail Mix cookies straight from the freezer… so I had two of those after lunch.  Nothing beats gnawing on a frozen ball of fruit, nuts, and oats.

Ok, there are a lot of things that beat that.  Like yellow cake with Nutella, which I have never tasted, but imagine tastes a bit like heaven.

Speaking of yellow cake, my birthday is coming.  Just for the curious, it is June 26 and I will be 26.

I failed to mention last weekend, that Iron-Jesse competed in an(other) Iroman 70.3. This one in St. Croix. Christina, could not get me any pictures of that race before the publishing of this post, but here are a few I nabbed from her FB of previous Ironman competitions.

Getting suited up before the swim of the Ironman 70.3 World Championships 2010, in Florida.

On the bike during Ironman European Championship 2010, in Germany.

During the run of Ironman 70.3 Galveston 2011.

Once again, he competed incredibly! Our whole family is so proud of him!

Hence, why I call him Iron-Jesse.

Jesse kindly took nervous me and my brand-spankin new bike out yesterday on a “daisy ride” for about 4 miles.  He showed me how to use my gears and turn using weight (versus the handle bars).

I could have gone for much much longer, but it was technically a rest day for me.  The verdict is that I love my bike and I will be saving to buy a trainer so that I can use it more!

Remember when I said that I would be using my time from Zoo Run as “training” data.  Well, Jesse sat down with me last night and began planning out the rest of my life the rest of May and a rough sketch of the future.

While some of my plan is yet to be revealed, in due time, I will say this.  I have 4 races scheduled.  All of them are longer than any race I have run. The first race planned is the Dallas White Rock Half-Marathon.

That is right, I said half-marathon.

Can I run 13.1 miles? Not today.  But I will be able to by December 4!

As I drove home last night with my sketched out plan for the next 3 weeks of workouts, I could not help but feel like I had a golden ticket.

This “runner” has a plan to becoming an actual runner. Furthermore, I feel like I am one step closer to becoming an athlete. (Did I just say that?)

White Rock is not until December, so you have plenty of time to prepare as well!  I would love to know other people running the race!  Any takers? Just let that sit a while.  If I can do it… ANYONE can do it.

8 Responses to “I’ve Got a Golden Ticket”

  1. Jen May 9, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Your grilled veggie plate looks YUMMY!! I need to make those sweet taters…pronto!

    Good luck on your marathon planning/training! It’s a goal of mine to work up to a mini-triathalon and then maybe work towards something more. Couple of obstacles to overcome before I will achieve it, but I won’t give up 🙂

    ps I think you should have a Nutella cake for your birthday. Veganized of course 😉

    • weightsandmeasures May 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      I am definitely interested in sprint triathlons. I will be working on cycling first, then I will work on swimming. I have obstacles too… but that is what will make the achievement all the more valuable.

  2. Susan May 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    My husband will be doing the White Rock race…not me, sister!

    • weightsandmeasures May 9, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      Will you be out there to watch? Chris and Jesse should be out there too!

      • Susan May 10, 2011 at 9:02 am #

        For sure. Last year I was thinking about doing the accompanying 5K, but my training fell off early in the year. Maybe I should start it up again..hmm.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oatmeal Magic « weightsandmeasures - May 10, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← I’ve Got a Golden Ticket […]

  2. Carrots for Breakfast « weightsandmeasures - May 11, 2011

    […] for Breakfast Posted on May 11, 2011 by weightsandmeasures My golden ticket asked a lot of me today. So much that I put off my run until […]

Leave a Reply

