Oatmeal Magic

10 May

Even the quaint sound of bells can be startling at 4:45am.  But, with my golden ticket in hand, I had reason to get up so early to make it to 5:45 Body Pump.

I usually eat toast with peanut butter and banana before Body Pump, but I gave 3/4th of Larabar a try today.  Dates and nuts… should give energy… but it was a bust.  I did not feel like it gave me what I needed to go into BP and work my hardest.

About 30 seconds into the squat song I had to lower my weight (bummer) because something in my left leg did not feel right (scary). So I was extra kind to it for the rest of the hour.  I stretched extra long, and will do so again tomorrow. I am sure it is nothing, but I will be careful just in case.

It was a bad lunge day…. I am giving myself Body Pump homework.  I must work on lunges.  I am a wobbly mess! I listened to Sandi Patty on the way home and let the warm tones of the 90s lift my mood.

Breakfast was a big ol’ bowl of oats…

Chocolate and Banana oats…

3/4 c water

3/4 c unsweetened almond milk

1/4 c rolled oats

2 T oat bran

1 T raw buckwheat groats

1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 t cinnamon

splash of vanilla

Bring to a gentle boil, stirring occassionally.

When about half way cooked, I pinched apart 3/4 of a banana and stirred.

After taking it off the heat I added 1 T ground flax and 1 T chia seeds.

Topped with a bit of unsweetened shredded coconut and 1/2 T pb.

The buckwheat groats do something absolutely amazing to this combo.  The rolled oats and oat brand become so absolutely smooth, but the groats add a bit of something to chew.

Oatmeal magic….

A couple hours later I had a slice of cantaloupe.

Lunch was a bowl of Sunday’s grilled veggies, chopped with some toasted garden tempeh, garbanzos, dash of low sodium soy and squirt of siracha.

And, a salad of lettuce, raw sunflower seeds, walnuts, currants, red wine vinegar, olive oil, and honey.

Honey on a salad may sound crazy, but Kath does it all the time. I have seen dozens of her salads with a bit of honey and I finally gave it a try.

It really did something incredible.  I will definitely do this again when I make another salad as simple as this.  I think shredded coconut would go really well with this too!

Later in the afternoon I sat down with my Bible, journal, and Jesus Calling (a devotional by Sarah Young).

My dear friend Marlyse gave me this devotional for Christmas and I would recommend it highly!  There is even an iPhone app, too!) Most mornings when I read the entry for the day, I am amazed at how personally it applies to my life.

Today’s entry began with this sentence, “You are being too hard on yourself.”

I stopped right there, because I was literally in the middle of a personal flogging.

The Lord is so good to me. He sends me what I need, when I need it.

Oh to trust my Savior more…

One of my favorite snacks of all times would be watermelon.  I cut off one slice of the melon and was kind of amazed that it filled this whole bowl.

I ate it with a relish fork because I like to feel like a giant benefit from any trick possible to slow down when eating.

Before work I had a bagel thin with SunButter… I am really enjoying this stuff.

I have been stalking tracking my package of PB2 as it is transported from NY to Dallas. It is supposed to arrive Tuesday… yes, please!

I have my first tempo run tomorrow and I am a little nervous about it.  I will be running faster than I would normally choose to run.  But that is what training is about… and that is why I wanted a person other than myself dictating my training. I am confident that I will be able to do what it says on the schedule.

If you would, please be in prayer for my leg, wisdom in making choices, and a car (as I am carless and I have a class that begins on Friday).

Leave a Reply

