Carrots for Breakfast

11 May

My golden ticket asked a lot of me today. So much that I put off my run until 11.

If you give me the choice between food and exercise… I almost always choose food.

This morning I mixed Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain cereal with 1 carrot shredded, 1/2 c. almond milk, and 3/4 c water over medium heat until it began to gently boil.

Then I added 1 T chopped walnuts, 1/4 t cinnamon, and 1/4 t pumpkin spice. After taking it off the heat I mixed in 1/2 T chia seeds.

I then blended 1/2 banana with 1/2 T pb and a couple T of almond milk to make a puree.

I sure did have a carrot in my breakfast!

The schedule today:

Tempo Run (used to increase speed)

.25 mi warm up

.50 mi @ 5.5 mph then .25 mi recovery (4x)

.50 mi cool down

5.5mph… that is .3 mph faster than I usually tread.

Not fast, but fast for me. So, this workout was quite a challenge.

The third time through definitely felt the most comfortable. By the end of it, my legs actually felt loose, but I was DONE running.  My muscles had been pretty tight in the morning and my legs felt a bit heavy.

Though I waited 3 hours after lunch, I felt every bit of that breakfast sitting in my stomach.  Lesson learned.

Lunch looks an awful lot like yesterday’s lunch… grilled veggies from Sunday, warmed in the oven on 350 for about 15 minutes.

corn, zucchini, yellow squash, onion, green beans, tempeh, and chickpeas with siracha and soy sauce

I also had a tangerine, after waiting about 15 minutes to determine if I was actually still hungry.

Later I had a slice of watermelon, when my hunger returned yet again.

Watermelon= summer

This little one loves watermelon too!

To my sister’s dismay, she eventually ended up needing a wardrobe change, as she managed to pour watermelon juice behind her bib and onto her (brand new, white) shirt.

Tonight was the final week of the Food for Life course from The Cancer Project, which is run by the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine.

Tonight was the only night I remembered to take pictures and it was the easiest night to photograph of the 4 nights.

Being the final evening, it was more of whole meal.

We had burritos of Mexican quinoa, black beans, calabacitas, Not-Yo-Cheese sauce, and guacamole.

On the side I had more guacamole and mango salsa (AMAZING!!!) with tortilla chips.

After eating this burrito, I did also have the innerd burrito contents in a bowl.

Seriously… the mango salsa! Mangoes period. Yu-um!

At the end of the class we were also given a sample of a Banana Nut smoothie that could be used as a meal replacement.

I came home to a box of PB2… finally… I was checking the tracking like a mad woman today. I couldn’t wait for it to arrive!

I’m headed to read for a few minutes before going to bed. Not sure I will make it too long though.

Until later…

Leave a Reply

