Afternoon of Pride

15 May

Breakfast was cold… very cold.

Two parts…

Frozen blueberries, frozen chopped spinach, vegan chocolate protein powder, almond milk and chia seeds

and frozen banana, PB2, raw oats, and almond milk.

I took a snack in my purse to church of sunflower seeds, almonds, and currants.

Lunch can be seen here.

Between 2003 and 2009 I was involved in various ways at a ministry in Dallas called Dallas Metro Ministries/Dallas Dream Center. First as an intern, then volunteer, part-time staff, full-time staff, and then volunteer, again.

In many ways, I consider my years at Metro to be my years of growing up.  Those were the years when a girl from the burbs was exposed to things that she could never have imagined. I was challenged. I was stretched. It was hard work. It was the best thing for me.  My time at Metro is an integral part of who I have become.

D’Oshnie is one of the first kids I ever knew at Metro.  When we met, she was only 9 years old and I was only 17. Today, she is 18.

I had the privilege of taking her to her first day of high school at El Centro Middle College four years ago.

I drove her downtown, struggled to find parking, and then walked her in to the building. We pretended to check out a bulletin board of postings as I prayed for her. Then she told people that I was her parole officer, to save face of course.

Since D went to a middle college, she graduated today with her Associates of Science… one month before she will graduate with her high school diploma.

I am so proud of this girl!

In August, she will be leaving for the Navy.  Just one more reason to be proud of her! But I will miss her so much!

Juan also graduated with his Associates of Science today!

I consider Juan to be one of the strongest people I know.  He has overcome the unimaginable without giving excuses or reasons, although he had plenty that he could give.

He loves God and will let you know it! He also raps, and will let you hear it!

Juan will be transferring to Southern Methodist University in the fall where he will pursue a degree in creative writing.  He continues to trust God to provide finances to make this next step in his education possible.  I am praying with Juan for provision! (Will you too?)

I am no fool… I came prepared to sit for a couple hours.

Biggest iced coffee with soy that I could get my hands on and a few snacks.

I ended up eating the Trio bar, which I bought for all of .50 at Marshall’s one day.  I ate the apple on the way home. And, consumed all of the water.

I thought it was entertaining that the man in front of me had a man bag just for his iPad. It makes sense to me. I do think it is funny that it is the same color as the leather purse in the picture directly above, which is my purse (that I have been carrying every day for 1 year and 11 months).

My view of the El Centro class of 2011.

While driving home I planned dinner in my head.

I made a little extra so that I could eat it tomorrow. 

Underneath all of that vegetable goodness is a serving of 10-grain cereal, cooked with garlic, paprika, and minced onion. On top I added a little peanut sauce, siracha, and soy sauce.

With a side of sunshine and Star Trek (the newest movie).

No workout today!  I do enjoy the occasional complete rest day.

Body Pump early tomorrow morning!

One Response to “Afternoon of Pride”

  1. D'oshnie Smith May 16, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    This made me cry !!! I love you so much you helped me get here. I’m still the 9 yr. Old in a big kids body. Actually I’m the same size!!!

Leave a Reply

