I Don’t Discriminate

17 May

Two thoughts are lurking in my mind as I start writing tonight.

1. Boy am I tired, and it only 10:30.

2. Boy do I want to have a post ready for any early morning readers. You win!

Monday and Thursday are the two mornings I choose to wake up insanely early (4:45) to be out the door by 5:00 for 5:45 Body Pump.  If you have not gotten the picture yet, I really do love Body Pump.

This morning’s class is at my favorite locale, and is full of older people who are disciplined enough to go work out before they go to their big important jobs.

I am the youngest person in the class, and I pretty much lift equal to or less than most of the people in there. There is one lady that amazes me.  She is not bulky at all, but she was lifting heavier weight than her husband, who was with her this morning.

Nothing beats seeing the orange glow of the moon just above the horizon as you drive to the gym, nor the feeling of walking out of the gym a hot mess as other people are just showing up.

Before Body Pump I ate a banana, and it seemed to work as fuel for my work-out. (Last week’s Larabar attempt was not good!)

After Body Pump I made oatmeal… Strawberry Oatmeal

I do not discriminate against food of any color, including pink.

Strawberry Oats
1/4 c. rolled oats
2 T oat bran
1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk
3/4 c. water
1 T raw buckwheat groats
1/2 c sliced strawberries
1 T chopped walnuts
2 T unsweetened shredded coconut
dab of pure vanilla extract
I put that all in a small saucepan over medium heat and let it simmer. When it was cooked, I took it off the heat and stirred in 1 T chia seeds.
I topped that with 1 more sliced strawberry and a little more chopped walnuts.  Boy was I wishing that I had some coconut butter!
By 9:45 I was ready for a nap. Since I had already been up for 5 hours and had to work tonight, I did just that.
But… 20 minutes led to a whole hour. By the way I feel right now, it is a good thing I took the time to nap.
I threw around the idea of roasting a sweet potato for lunch, but landed on savory Italian spiced socca instead.
The recipe makes more than I wanted, so I halved it and only made “one pancake”.
I topped it with the leftover kebab from yesterday, that I reheated (and finished cooking) in a 350 oven. I sauteed some tempeh with 2 handfuls of spinach and about 1/3 c tomato sauce. I really wanted more sauce, but did not want to open another jar.
So, after this picture, I plopped a spoon of artichoke hummus right on top.
I will be making these savory “pancakes” again in many ways.  It was so easy and tasted wonderful.  I could layer these with a spinach dip I have been wanting to make. Yum!
I have been consuming A LOT of coffee lately, mostly iced (brewed and chilled, placed in the fridge, poured over ice with whatever non-dairy milk I have on hand).
Yesterday I bit the bullet and bought decaf.  I found some Organic Fair Trade whole bean coffee at Target that was their Archer Farms store brand. It is very difficult to find whole bean decaf coffee.
Mid afternoon I had an apple with a combination of chocolate PB2 and SunButter.
Honestly, I am starting to think that I like SunButter better than some peanut butters.  Not Maranatha pb though… geez, did I like that stuff. (Note to self: buy Maranatha pb)
Right before work I had the last Carrot Banana Muffin, defrosted from the freezer, and the left overs of Sunday’s stir-fry.
I will be making those muffins again very soon.  The Burger and I both really enjoyed them.
I walked to work tonight (still carless), with the following in my nap-sack: 2 carrots, 1 bottle water, 1 work shirt, 1 pair black capris, sunglasses case.
My new strategy is to take a snack with me to eat on the way home from work.  Hopefully I will figure out a snack that will be enough to help me avoid the kitchen when I get home between 8:30 and 9:15.
Some people say that there is nothing wrong with eating that late, but I like to wake up hungry and I do have weight to lose.
To each his/her own… and for me I do not like eating after 8…
I ate the carrots while I waited for my ride (too dark to walk home). On my way out of the building, I had a carrot dangling from my mouth. The guy walking in, as I walked out, of the door, kind of chuckled.  That made me chuckle.  I am sure that was a funny thing to see.
My mom and I went to the store, where I grabbed a few Larabars and Clif Bars to replenish my supply (on sale 10 for 10), another carton of Almond Breeze(.55 coupon), some flax seeds, and a Whole Soy Co. peach yogurt.
I ate the yogurt while the other groceries where being bagged.  I just shook it up and drank it from the carton. I miss yogurt…
I managed to make it all the way past the kitchen without putting any other food in my face!
And into my home-office for the night bed.
I have a great post planned for this afternoon about how both fitness and fatness are infectious… I have to type it up as I wrote it out on paper last night (gasp… people still write on paper? I do, though rarely blog stuff.)
Until then…. I am so happy to finally say, goodnight.
7 Responses to “I Don’t Discriminate”

  1. Christina May 17, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    I am praying for your car to find us soon. (and am actively looking for it online) I love you. =)

  2. Lisa May 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    How do you like the PB2? Did I miss you writing about it?

    • weightsandmeasures May 18, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      I am using it for a while before I give a real opinion. I want to see if it is really worth the cost and effort to get it.

  3. Jen May 17, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Breakfast and lunch look yummy! Good luck on finding a car! I know how awful it is as i’ve had to do it twice in the last two years (People in FL CANNOT drive!). Have a great night 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures May 18, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Thanks! They were yummy! Sometimes I wish i could share the actual food with people so they can understand that eating the way I do is really delicious and fulfilling.

  4. Elizabeth H, blogger for SunButter May 18, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Lovely post ~ thanks for the SunButter mention. Glad it fits your lifestyle!

    • weightsandmeasures May 18, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      I am really enjoying it! I was so excited when I saw it on sale and was able to buy some!

Leave a Reply

