Infectiousness of Fitness, Fatness, and Faith

19 May

Everyone has 2 kinds of people in their lives:

1. Those they influence.

2. Those that influence them.

No one remains in the same role at all times, often oscolating back and forth seamlessly throughout life.

I have talked a lot about how Iron-Jesse influenced Christina, the Teacher, to get run and eventually bike.  She in turn influenced me. She also influences him, by urging him to sign up for races in all the exotic places that she would like to visit.

Consider a social situation, such as a girl’s night out for dinner. I’ll be honest, I used to want to be the last person order, because I wanted to know what everyone else was planning to eat. Were they intending to indulge or “behave”. Today, I do not look for that same excuse to eat poorly.  I make those decisions myself (most of the time).

Research shows that in such situations, women will follow the lead of the woman considered to be the best in shape or most attractive.

I encounter a lot of pressure from people to make exceptions to the way I choose to eat. I hear other people experience the same pressures.

“Go ahead, splurge.”

“It’s just one meal, dessert, or day.”

“Oh please, you don’t need to watch what you eat.”

“You deserve it!”

I am not saying that there is anything wrong with choosing to eat foods that you would not normally eat on occasion. (The Texas State Fair is coming and all bets will be off!)

I wonder though, how often do we make those exceptions because WE genuinely want to and how often do we because others are or we feel pressured to? The same for working out.

Just the other day I was having breakfast with a fellow plant-eater and he ordered eggs. Before I even realized it, I ordered something with cheese. I let his decision affect my decision.

Influence is not a bad thing.

If we strategically surround ourselves with positive influences, we can greatly benefit from the influence of others.

When I spend time talking with runners, I feel more motivated to run.

If I talk about healthy recipes, I want to cook healthy food.

When I discuss what God is doing and has done in my life, I feel drawn even closer to His side.

I would love to consider myself a person of healthy and positive influence.  But, I can not take credit for any influence I have. I am so heavily) and easily influenced by others. Because of that, I have to strongly consider who and what I allow to influence me. (Think friends, blogs, TV shows, books, magazines, etc.)

Are the people that you spend time with influencing you in a way that is causing you to get or remain unhealthy, overweight, lazy, financially undisciplined, spiritually stagnant?

What if the negative influence is a family member? Spouse? Parent?I do not know all the answers to that question.

People influence us.  We influence others. Both of those are unchangeable parts of life. We can, however, change who influences us and what kind of an influence that we are.

I would encourage you to analyze your life and consider who is influencing you for good or bad in these areas:

1. Mental

2. Emotional

3. Diet

4. Exercise

5 Spiritual (Really the most important of all)

Then consider who you may be influencing and whether you may beed to change what kind of an influence that you are being.

Remember that your role is not permanent, and that you can choose to change.

Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble.

Proverbs 13:20 (NLT)

5 Responses to “Infectiousness of Fitness, Fatness, and Faith”

  1. emily (a nutritionist eats) May 19, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    What a thought-provoking post! Love it!

  2. Christina May 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I am so happy about the new way of life Jesse has introduced us to…and excited about passing it on to the rest of our family!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kalachandji’s for Dinner « weightsandmeasures - August 27, 2011

    […] out with Clare reminds me why it is so important to spend time with people that inspire you, share your passions, and encourage you.  By the time we were leaving I was fire up and ready to take my blog to the next […]

  2. I Have To Wonder the Effect Reading Blogs « weightsandmeasures - September 6, 2011

    […] naive to think that what I eat, do, and say does not impact others around me. I realize that, just as others have influenced me, I have influence as […]

  3. 10 Reasons Why You Should Sign Up for a Race « weightsandmeasures - September 14, 2011

    […] will be infected with the racing bug.  I am telling you, it is infectious!  You will want to race […]

Leave a Reply

