A Bit Willy Nilly

20 May

I told you my Mom is wonderful!

Can you read that note? It says, “Not decaf.”

Now that is love.

I stated that I am a little frustrated that I have not been losing any weight lately.

“But I thought you said you weren’t trying to lose weight?”

Well, I’m not. But I am trying to learn habits for a healthy lifestyle. I have weight to lose. Therefore, if I am eating and exercising as I should be, I should be losing weight.

I know the problem. It is time to address it and make some changes.

I like food. I like to eat. A lot.

I used to like that full feeling when I’d eaten too much. Today I loathe that feeling, but I do still eat beyond the point where I am not hungry anymore. I have only had that stuffed feeling 2, maybe 3 times, since I changed the way I eat. But, I almost always eat beyond just being satisfied.

In the last month I have been home a lot more than normal, since I do not have a vehicle at the moment because of the accident that totaled my car. So, here I am, day after day, only steps from the kitchen.

I have been snacking a lot. A spoon of this. A pinch of that. Just one more bite.

I also struggle with portion control. Although I am eating healthy, whole foods, too much of a good thing, can be a bad thing.

I am unaware of how much I need versus how much I want. When it is time to eat, how much I need is not the first thing on my mind. It needs to be though.

Also, I have been eating when I am not really hungry. It is noon or six, so I eat. Sometimes life requires that we do that. But, lately my schedule has allowed me some freedom. I have taken that freedom and munched away.

So, I was a bit mad at myself this morning, but I quickly told myself I had to get over it. I am not going to be angry about time and opportunity I can not get back. I am going to embrace this moment to change and learn and grow.

Here’s the plan:

1. Start every day by asking God for help with self-control. I can not do this on my own.

2. Make breakfast my largest meal of the day. All other meals should be smaller than that.

3. Watch my portions, majoring on vegetables, fruits, legumes, and whole grains.

4. Eat more raw vegetables, especially at dinner.

5. Watch for pointless calories that sneak in through a bite, lick, spoon-ful, sprinkle.

6. Eat when I am hungry.

7. No reading food blogs after dinner.

8. Take a snack of vegetables or fruit to eat on the way home from work (maybe a couple raw nuts) and go to bed when I get home.

Those aren’t rules. They are just ways I think I can tighten things up round here.

I do not want to ever feel guilty for eating. I do not want to walk around hungry. I won’t.

But, there has to be balance and self-control involved in my choices. Lately, it’s been a bunch of lop-sided, willy nilly.

I look forward to sharing the progress with you in the coming weeks!

This afternoon, I am headed to Houston to volunteer at Ironman Texas. I have 5 hours to get a lot of things done. So, naturally I am blogging.

I am not taking my computer, because sometimes it is nice to get away. But, I will have much to show you when I return!

Until then, here is my breakfast!

Apple Cinnamon PB2 Oats

1/4 c rolled oats

2 T oatbran

1 T buckwheat groats

1 T almond meal

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 t pure vanilla extract

1/2 small apple cut into chunks (I left the skin on)

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

1/2 c water

Simmered over medium heat to desired consistency.

1 T ground flax

1 T PB2

Stirred in at the end.

Served with caffeine free peppermint tea.

Nutritional info: 275 calories, 9.6 g fat (only .7 saturated), 36.4 g carb, 7.6 g fiber, 9.2 g sugars, 9.9 g protein

Good points

4 Responses to “A Bit Willy Nilly”

  1. Jen May 21, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    If there’s anything I know, it’s how frustrating weight loss can be. Have you tried journaling your food intake? This is one of the many things that have helped me lose weight. Once you start seeing it on paper, you become more accountable. No worries if this doesn’t work for you. Your plan sounds great too..Especially “rule” #1!!

    • weightsandmeasures May 21, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      I haven’t journaled it consistently. But I think I’ll try! Thanks!

  2. Lisa May 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    How do like the PB2?

    • weightsandmeasures May 29, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      It has pros and cons. In smoothies or oatmeal, it is great. As a peanut butter substitute, it really lacks. I occasionally add water and dip apple in it, but it really does not do the trick if I am really wanting peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

