Carrot Trials

20 May

Being called into work unexpectedly is good for the finances, but not so much for the sleep schedule. I am grateful for the extra hours though!

I was prepared for breakfast though with ANOTHER dough-boyish smoothie.

This time I went with extra protein and cocoa flavor!

In two parts of course…

Wednesday night I put in the fridge…

1/3 c rolled oats

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

2 T unsweetened shredded coconut

1 T chia seeds

1 T cocoa powder

1/2 scoop rice protein powder

1 T PB2

In the morning I blended that with another 1/4 c almond milk and some extra unsweetened cocoa powder.  Topped with a bit of Easy Peezy Granola.

After work I worked out… 30 minutes of elliptical and 45 minutes of my best Body Pump impression.

Then I watched my niece, Leila, while Michele and Rebecca went to the gym.

Leila and I were both very hungry, so I made hers and hers lunches.

She enjoyed some cherries, strawberries, and brown rice, while I enjoyed some left overs.

Mama Pea’s Tamale Pie topped with chopped red onion, avocado, and salsa.

With a side of carrots.

Well, all the crunching I was doing really interested the tot.

So I let her have a go.

Under supervision of course.

After I showed her a picture of herself on the back of the camera, she wanted that too.

When her mom came home, she was given a tiny Starbucks cup and straw (which I felt the need to fill with water). Then she may have spilled it on her shirt. It happens!

I have been frustrated lately with the lack of scale movage.

I know the cause.

Now it is time to make changes…

I leave for Houston tomorrow! That means that I have laundry, packing, and food prep as well. I am really very excited to go though!

4 Responses to “Carrot Trials”

  1. Christina May 20, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Did she like the carrot?

  2. Jen May 21, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Your niece is adorable!!! Love the little flower in her hair 🙂

    Do you always blend your overnight oats? I have tried doing O.O. a few times and they never seem to soften!

    • weightsandmeasures May 21, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      She is an incredible girl! She has had a bow in her hair every day since her second day of life. She was born with a head of hair!

      I do not always blend them. Only when I want an oat and smoothie hybrid. Make sure you are putting a cup worth of liquid or yogurt/ milk combo and give it plenty of time in the fridge over night. In The morning add a splash of milk to loosen things up if you want. Do you use chia seeds? You won’t need as much liquid if you don’t.

Leave a Reply

