On the Road to Ironman Texas

20 May

I’ve never used my phone to post, so we will see how this goes!

I’m still in the car on the way to Houston to volunteer at Ironman Texas. I was a spectator last year at the Ironman European Championships where I watched my brother-in-law, Jesse, race.

The environment is insane! So motivating and inspirational! These people will go out and do what few do, because few choose to do it. They train for months for a day of physical and mental challenge. While I have no intention of doing such a race, I do participate in races and this is my chance to volunteer.

Races are impossible without volunteers! How many volunteers have made my race packet, handed me a cup of water, picked up my empty cup, or handed me a banana or medal after a race? (My first race I COULD NOT throw my cup on the ground. I held on to it for a mile and a half until I finished. Today, not so much!)

We stopped for dinner in Waxahachie, which is the town I went to college in for 3 years. It’s a pretty small town (though I have different view of small after living in a town of 1,200 for 6 months), so I kept expecting to see people I know. But, I graduated four years ago and saw no one. It reminded me how quickly time passes and how many things change.

They now have a Fuzzy’s Tacos in that little town, which seems to be growing like a weed! I had two soft grilled vegetable tacos. I forgot to order them without feta, but they were quite tasty! (Thanks Chris and Jesse for supper!)

Just after we headed out, the sky broke open and torrential rain began to pour. It stayed with us from Waxahachie to just beyond Buffalo.

Christina has been keeping the tunes rolling… a mix of Rascal Flatts, Boyz to Men, Mariah Carey, NSync, Taylor Swift, and old school Tim McGraw. Road trips are just an excuse for a sing along!

I packed stuff to make overnight oats in the fridge in our hotel, but I did not have a banana and will have to use water.

I’m really looking forward to being inspired tomorrow! We are getting close(r) to our hotel and, honestly, I am ready for bed. We don’t have to be at our station until 9 to set up, and the pro racers will show up around 10. So it won’t be an early morning.

The question is, when am I going to run 3.5 miles? Still have not figured that one out.

3 Responses to “On the Road to Ironman Texas”

  1. Jen May 21, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Have a great day volunteering today! Praying for great weather!!!

    • weightsandmeasures May 21, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks! We had a great time! The rain did not come and it was overcast most of the day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ironman Texas Volunteer Recap « weightsandmeasures - May 23, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← On the Road to Ironman Texas […]

Leave a Reply

