Summer’s so Close I Can Taste It

26 May

I will admit to you that I sometimes Chick-Fil-A sounds really good to me.. in theory.

I will admit that sometimes I think about how was it was to make food choices when I could eat just anything.

I will admit that sometimes I want a bowl of ice cream.

But my reasons for eating as I do go far beyond momentary desire. My resolve is steady.

I am not pulling into a drive-thru any time soon.

This morning, I got an early morning call to come to work (that has been happening about once a week, but twice this week).

The call was early enough that I still had time to make oats.

I walked to work and home.  I also hopped on the treadmill for a mile = 4 total miles.

I was a hungry monster, but I knew what I wanted…

Open-faced Chickpea Salad

Serves 3

1 c chickpeas, mashed coarsely

1 c coleslaw mix (from a bag)

2 green onions, chopped

1.5 T vegan mayo

1 T spicy mustard

dash of salt

dash of pepper

After it is all mixed up, chill it in the fridge. (I was too hungry for this step today!)

I toasted Ezekial bread for me and the Burger and loaded it up!

After walking home from work I was a hot mess and wanted a smoothie, so I made a half smoothie… and a mess all over the counter.

Light, fresh… Summer is on its way!

PS. The Dallas Mavericks just won game 5 and are going to the NBA Championships.  I am not huge into basketball, but I am a supporter of all things Dallas. So, I am pretty excited for them!

2 Responses to “Summer’s so Close I Can Taste It”

  1. Rachel May 29, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I made a chickpea salad a month or so ago and was very disappointed in how it turned out. I’ll have to try your version soon!

    • weightsandmeasures May 29, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Rebecca and I both thought it was very much like chicken salad. You must consider that neither of us have had chicken in a very long time though. I liked it. You could use chopped celery and grated carrot instead of the coleslaw mix.

Leave a Reply

