Angels and Beans

27 May

I can’t believe that my sister is pawning this Angel off on me AGAIN!

Just kidding… I literally beg for Leila to be left with me. She is pretty much the easiest baby I have ever known.  She (like her parents) is supper chill.  She knows how to play by herself well, but still loves playing with other children too.

Leila is such a blessing to our family!

I can hear her over the monitor as I write.  She is supposed to be taking a nap.  She is saying, “po-ppy”.

Oh how she melts my heart!

I had a meeting at work today, for which we were supposed to bring a dish to share. I knew full well that I would likely be able to eat only what I brought. (Someone did bring a veggie tray, on which I feasted as well).

This was a tough assignment.

I made an Easy Bean Salad last night.  I originally tried this recipe during my Food for Life class, and loved it!  I have been waiting to recreate it and thought this would be a good chance.

This recipe is easy to make (if you know how to use a can opener) and great to make the night before so it can hang out over night in the fridge and get nice and cold.

This would be an excellent addition to a Memorial Day cookout!

Easy Bean Salad 

Recipe source: The Cancer Survivors Guide

Make 10 cups (it is a big batch)

1.5 c cooked or canned kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1.5 c cooked or canned pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1/5 c cooked or canned black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained

1 package frozen lima beans, thawed OR 1.5 c cooked green soybeans (shelled edamame)

1 c frozen corn, thawed or 1 can corn, rinsed and drained

1 large red bell pepper, diced

1/2 medium red onion, diced

1/3 c Italian salad dressing (low-fat)

1 t salt

1 t ground black pepper

Combine all of the ingredients and toss gently. Refrigerate up to 3 days.

The people that were brave enough to try it, really liked it!  I love it!  We have a ton of leftovers, so if you are near stop by for a taste or 10.

Did you know that June 1 is National Running Day?

I am looking at group runs for that day.  I you know of one in Grand Prairie or Arlington, let me know!  I know of one in Fort Worth, leaving from the Cowtown Marathon office that I really want to do, but it is at 6am and I have to be at school at 8:30.

5 Responses to “Angels and Beans”

  1. Christina May 27, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I must agree with you…she has been such an amazing addition to our family! Who would have thought a baby would change us all so much?

  2. Christina May 27, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    And, it makes me laugh that she still has a bow in her hair in the picture of her in a nightgown…

  3. Jen May 27, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Your niece is so adorable & I just love that she always wears cute hair accessories! Bean salad sounds yummy!!!

    • weightsandmeasures May 29, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Oh thanks! She was swimming tonight and still had in a bow. Her hair gets in her face, and her mom can not stand it!

      The bean salad is good. I had a ton of leftovers, so my sister and I have been eating on it all weekend.

Leave a Reply

