Lessons Learned About Rest

29 May

The older that I get. the more I learn.

The more I learn, the more I understand.

 

While laughter may be the best medicine for some things, rest is the best medicine for most things.

This year I felt challenged to truly honor the Sabbath day, and Sunday is my Sabbath day.

I began the year with some goals for Sundays…

– staying off Facebook and Twitter

– attending church with my family

– spending time with my family in the afternoon

– take the day off from the gym ( I do sometimes do something light for fun, but I do not workout on Sundays.)

– do chores and work on other days of the week

I have done better at some of those goals than other… I have been slipping on Twitter and Facebook lately.

I have no idea how many times that God states in the Bible to honor the Sabbath, but I know it is a lot. If God felt it necessary to mention it that many times, it seems to me that it must be pretty significant.

God knows that we need rest. He knows that we need to be refreshed. He knows that we can not work all of the time and be healthy people.

So, while our society does not recognize our need for rest, God does. This is a lesson I am learning because rest and relaxation are not natural for me. I feel guilty when I sit and do any one thing for any length of  time. For some reason, I think that I should be doing a minimum of 2 things at a time… all the time.

I usually work on the computer, or on my phone while watching a movie. I pray while I run. I make plans while on the elliptical. I cook while I read.

I know there are other people who can easily rest. When in college, I was amazed by my good friend who would lay in bed sometimes and just rest… not sleep, just rest. It was such a foreign concept to me.

While in Europe, I was amazed that they whole city would shut down during the afternoon while people rested. By the end of the 3 weeks I began to understand it though, because that summer heat was quite a beating.

We think that we have to be occupied all of the time. We work and work and work, until we are worn down and sick and stressed out. Is that the way it is supposed to be?  Is that the only way we can live?

I don’t think so.  I have said it before, and I will say it again. We all have to make choices about our lives. I am choosing not to be over committed, over scheduled, over worked.

I am choosing to learn how to rest.

 

I stayed home from church today, because my stomach does not feel 100%. I am going to sign off here and lay on the couch.

I hope you find some time to rest too. Enjoy your 3 day weekend!

Leave a Reply

