Hello, Reality!

1 Jun

I am so glad that God understands anger. Even He experiences anger at times.

Today I ran smack into the reality of life as a student. I’m adjusting, and I am not going to pretend that the adjustment is going seamlessly.

I did not get into bed when I wanted, so I did not force myself to go to run this morning, telling myself that I would tonight.

I made a dough-boy smoothie for breakfast.

The night before:

1/3 c rolled oats

2/3 c unsweetened almond milk

1/2 scoop chocolate rice protein powder

1.5 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1 T unsweetened shredded coconut

In the morning:

1/4 c. unsweetened almond milk

1/4 c frozen cherries

1/2 banana

All aboard… well, all into my new single serving blender!

Topped with a bit of Bear Naked Banana Nut Granola and the other half of the banana.

Cold and chewy…

About 15 minutes into my 8:30 am Chemistry lab, the teacher began to explain just how much work that this class will be.

We did get out early though, so I went to the bookstore to get my lab manual (school specific, so I could not get it online) and my lab goggles.

I snacked on an apple… some carrots… Triscuits… and Barney Butter, while sitting in this nice seating area.

But had so much time before class that I drove home.

Why would I drive (3 whole miles) home?

Iced coffee… I wanted it, but I had 0 desire to spend money on it.

I went back to school for Chemistry lecture, where the prof expounded on the commitment level needed for the duration of this 5 week class.

Then I started tripping… I do that sometimes.

Our first test in Tuesday, and I will be out of town volunteering at a camp ALL weekend. I will not be eating camp food, so I have 3 days of food to prepare and pack.

Beans are soaking as we speak, so that they can be cooked tomorrow. Then I will make a bit of quinoa, brown rice, and whole wheat pasta to add some girth to cold salads. I have access to a fridge, so I will likely be making overnight oats  and taking fruit, as well.

Well, the moment I decided to move my run tomorrow and just eat dinner with my family, my whole mood changed.  I relaxed… maybe, too much.

Chris and Jesse came over to watch the Mavericks play the Heat in the first game of the NBA finals, so Mom whipped up a watching party in an hour flat (including shopping time).

I had a veggie burger with ALL the trimmings, chips, and guacamole.

Vegan mayo, yellow mustard, ketchup, pickles, red onion, lettuce, tomato, s&p… just what I wanted.

Guacamole does not last long in this family…

I even had two bites of my mom’s cherry pie. It is the world’s simplest recipe. By no means healthy. But, really good. I broke my commitment… but, I’m cool with it. It was that kind of day.

I have made a pot of coffee and put it in the fridge to chill for tomorrow’s iced coffee, but I still need to pack lunch.  I only have 20 minutes to eat between lab and lecture, but I know I can not wait to eat until after class (@1:50).

I have some PowerPoints to download before class tomorrow and I need to be in bed as early as possible.  Someone has an early morning date with a treadmill.

Hope your day was a little less real than mine!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

