The Girls Are Back In Town

5 Jun

I was scheduled to be out of town this weekend, but could not go… because of Chemistry and it’s desperate need for attention.  I think it should go to therapy because it has dependency issues. It needs too much attention for my liking.  This will be a short lived relationship… four more weeks to be exact. All week long, a minimum of 8 hours a day has been devoted to Chemistry.

After work on Thursday, around 10pm, I indulged in a late night workout.  I generally avoid working out late at night because I struggle to fall asleep and who wants to waste all those feel good endorphins. But, I busted a mile on the treadmill, 10 minutes on the elliptical, and then 20 minutes on the stairs.  I was a sweaty, but happy mess.

Friday was devoted to school work (no class on Fridays).  ALL morning and ALL afternoon I studied. Around 4:30 I met up with some Alyssa and Ashley to go to dinner for Alyssa’s birthday. Well, dinner turned into shopping, which turned into hanging out at Ashley’s.  I got home late, too late.

We went to Cheesecake Factory, which is known for enormous portions.  We split the hummus appetizer and then Ashley and I shared the Thai Lettuce Wraps with avocado instead of chicken.  Amazing… so amazing I forgot to take a picture.

Then Alyssa ordered the Reese’s cheesecake. There is sat, looking all chocolaty and peanut buttery.  Now, this is where I should be able to tell you about how strong I was and how I determined that it would not be worth it. But. I wasn’t strong, and I determined that it would be worth it. So, I ate cheesecake… there I said it. It was good. Really really really good. If you like peanut butter and chocolate, you will like that cheesecake.  (Seriously looking forward to eating cake on my birthday in 21 days!)

I had a 4 mile run scheduled for Saturday morning, but my family was having a garage sale.  I decided to help them get it set up instead and moved my run to sun down. ALL day I worked on Chemistry and actually didn’t fee like a moron for a few minutes started figuring some things out.

That evening, I went to another birthday shindig for Alyssa, Chase, and Chrissy (Staci’s brother and mom).  I had a bean burger and some bean salad (kind of redundant I guess). I did skip out on the ice cream cake.  My resolve was back in action!

 

Then Hassan, our new friend from Tajikistan, gave a short lesson on Tajik dancing. (They are going to kill me for including this picture 🙂 )

I changed clothes there and drove to where I planned to run, hoping to meet back up with them after my run, but doubtful that it would work logistically.

4 miles was the goal and 4.15 were covered.  It was a wonderful run.  It was not too hot and my head, my heart, and my body were all in it to win it!

After a sweaty 50 minutes, I showered, applied a bit of makeup, and managed my wet hair into a bun just in time to meet up with the gang again for a late night coffee/snack.

Again, I got home crazy late.

Church, lunch, and now back to Chemistry.

Sorry I have been silent for a while.

I’ll be honest… when Staci comes to town I lose my mind. I usually block out the entire weekend to spend time with her. There is no containing what happens when Staci, Alyssa, and I are together.

Other than the 24 hours I have spent working on Chemistry, this has been an incredible weekend of running, friends, and eating.

Want to see some of the meals I have been making over the last couple days?

overnight oats made with strawberry O’Soy banana, pineapple, and granola

pumpkin pancakes with Archer Farms almond, cashew, and peanut butter and Crofter’s European All Fruit Spread

soy yogurt with raspberries, strawberries, and pineapple

salad bowl of lettuce, quinoa, black beans, corn, sauteed onions and squash, cashew “cheeze”, avocado, and salsa

sandwich thin with lettuce, tomato, red onion, chickpea salad, avocado, and cucumber

I really want to go to Body Pump in the morning.  It has been a whole week since I have been to a class. Correction… a week and a half.

Hope you have had an incredible weekend!

3 Responses to “The Girls Are Back In Town”

  1. Jen June 9, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Have you posted the recipe that you use for the cheez sauce? I believe it’s the same one i’ve tried, just wanted to double check 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures June 10, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      I have seen a couple recipes for it floating around. I will have to post it. I did change it a little. Have you made it yourself?

  2. Christina June 13, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    You need to post the picture of you, Alyssa, and Staci on the About Me page….to show the difference in you from the one that is on there from last year!! It’s a journey, but you have already come SO far!!

Leave a Reply

