Running on Fumes

8 Jun

I took my first Chemistry test yesterday.

I was determined to stay calm. When I feel stressed, my chest feels angsty and my shoulders get tight. I feel angry and like I could cry. My goal was to experience none of that. I have always been a good test taker… No test anxiety at all.

This class is challenging me. I have cried. I have dropped my pen in frustration. I’ve even yelled (at home of course). There has been a lot of sighing too.

My test strategy was to answer all of the questions I was certain of the answer. After answering those, I knew I had a passing score. Then I just worked the problems, the best I could.

Last night I nervously checked my score. The outcome… 100.

I laughed. I rechecked to make sure I was reading it right. I refreshed the page. I logged out and back in. Utter disbelief…

I am not falsely humble. I’m secure in my intelligence. The Lord has blessed me with the capability to learn and retain information. I’m so grateful for that. But, some subjects are more difficult for me… Grammar, astronomy…

A girl asked me if I was ready before the test, I answered that I was ready to do my best and that is all I can do.

I think I learned something more important than how to find the molar mass of a formula… It is worth it to control my emotions and maintain my sanity. It is worth choosing not to get stressed out. It’s not easy, but it’s a valuable process.

I’m encouraged by overcoming that hurdle, but three more lie before me. Four and a half more weeks of constant study. But I’m up for it.

I thought I’d show you an example of what I’ve been taking for lunch…

20110608-125509.jpg

Oranges, cucumbers, yellow squash, carrots, wheat tortilla with pb, and garbanzo bean salad for lunch. Apple and Triscuits for snack.

I have been super hungry lately, so I generally eat all that I bring. Consequently I careful what and how much I bring.

I have also been a smoothie monster lately. Cold, filling, nutritious.

I am shocked by the crap that my classmates eat in class or during breaks. The girl next to me in class today had a Coke, bag of Doritos, and tub of mini Chipsahoy cookies. A few have said that they don’t eat breakfast either.

How can we expect our body to function without food fuel? It’s like trying to drive your car without gas.

I had a good speed run yesterday, but I ate tortilla chips with hummus about an hour before and it did not agree with running. I’m quickly learning what I can not eat before running. It seems my stomach does not really like tortilla chips ever. I feel bleck after I eat them. But they are so good…

Hope you have a good day!

4 Responses to “Running on Fumes”

  1. Christina June 8, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I AM SOOOOOOOOO PROUD OF YOU!!!

  2. 321delish June 10, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I am always amazed at how people eat…I forget that not everyone eats the way I do, which I don’t consider to be overly healthy or out of the ordinary. Priorities…

    • weightsandmeasures June 10, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      I forget too. It seems so normal to me to make healthy choices. As I watch my peers drink soda and eat from the vending machines during the school day, I feel so lucky to have my pre-packed lunch. It takes me all of 5 minutes the night before, but makes all the difference in health and energy.

Leave a Reply

