In the Best Possible Way

10 Jun

I love being active! I have not always been a active person.  I lived the first 24.5 years of my life relatively sedentary. Now, I like to move it… and by it, I mean all of me.

On Wednesday, the stress of chemistry and life in general was getting to me in the worst possible way.  I was crank-y. My sister’s were headed to the gym and I had schoolwork to do, keeping me home from church.  My mom then kindly suggested that, I too go to the gym.  She apparently has figured out my not-so-secret that I am a much _______ person when I work out. Not sure what to put in that blank.  I do know that I am a more self-controlled, productive, full of energy, and in an overall better mood when I work out.

This morning I went for a hike with Mary, whom I have known my entire life, and Alyssa, whom I have known since I was 7 years old. We went to the Cedar Ridge Nature Preserve and completed the Cedar Brake trail, a 2 mile moderate to difficult trail.

The goal was to be done hiking by the time that it started getting too warm. Hence, an early morning wake up call.  We were on the trail by 7:40.

It had been quite a while since I had been on this trail.  This trail has a few difficult hills that used to challenge me. One climb in particular necessitated a rest half way up.

Today I was out front, leading the way. No stopping. No resting. Definite heart rate rise… in the best way.

We laughed and talked our way through the trail in about 50 minutes. Not too bad.

We then went over to Panera Bread which, it turns out, had few options for anyone who does not want to eat eggs. I ended up ordering the kids meal peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Gotta be honest, I pretty much savored ever bite… I have a peanut butter problem. I do not think I will be going to Panera for breakfast again, though.

The rest of the morning was spent in productive action… laundry, bills, cleaning my room… pretty much anything to avoid chemistry.

I eventually had to bite the bullet and got to work, while simultaneously baking tofu for lunch.

A package of stirfry veggies, sauteed up, and topped with baked tofu, hoisin sauce, and sriracha.

I pressed and cut the tofu into 4 equal steaks. Then I coated the tofu with a sauce of 1 T soy sauce, 1 T honey, 1.5 T sesame oil, and ,5 T minced garlic. I then baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes on each side.

In the afternoon, Alyssa picked me up and we met Christina and Iron-Jesse at the swimming pool.  As Alyssa and Chris worked on their tans, Jesse taught me to swim.

I know how to swim, as in I am not going to drown, but I was not getting anywhere any time soon.

There is so much to learn about swimming! I am so grateful that Jesse is so abundantly patient with me. I learned so much, and I am looking forward to learning more.

I learned today that I am still completely uncomfortable with my thighs, to the point that my shorts came off while swimming about 3 times before I could be convinced to just take them off. (I have not purchased a new swimming suit or shorts since losing weight.)

I learned that swimming is harder than I thought and that using paddles on your hands will let you know immediately that your form stinks.

I learned that I need to work on my core more. I pretty much say that after every work out.

I can not wait to get faster and be able to swim laps as an additional form of cross training.

After swimming, Alyssa and I were charged with watching her niece for the evening. A task we always gladly embrace. Our friend ~nIcOlAs~ (that would be the way he told me to spell his name) met us for dinner and took us to a new restaurant.

We went to Thai Sawan, where I had the yellow curry with tofu.

Oh my!  I wanted to spoon the curry straight into my mouth. I used self control and only ate half of the rice… it was white rice, which I never eat. There were onions, red peppers, potatoes, and green beans floating around in that tasty sauce with the cubes of tofu.

For dessert, our table shared the mango sweet rice which was DE-LI-CIOUS! Pretty sure that I had my white rice allotment for the year.

I will definitely be returning to this restaurant!

Thanks Nicolas for the great restaurant suggestion!

I have gotten some serious inquiries about the intricacies of overnight oats, so I will be devoting an entire post to it, hopefully Monday. Be on the lookout!

I have a 4 mile run planned for the morning and a wedding to attend in the afternoon.

3 chapters of homework, 2 chapters to read and outline, and 4 labs to finish questions for… anyone want to help?

Hope your weekend is full of movement and full of good friends and full of delicious food.

Question:

Other than overnight oats, do you have anything you would like me to talk about?

6 Responses to “In the Best Possible Way”

  1. Cait's Plate June 11, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I wish I had places to hike near me! I live in a city so I don’t have beautiful trails like that anywhere around (that I know of anyway!). I just visited my sister in Atlanta and we had a great hike in a place just like that and it was so fun 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend – enjoy the wedding, I LOVE going to weddings! 🙂

    • weightsandmeasures June 11, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      I am in the suburbs of Dallas. The Nature Preserve is a great place to hike. I wish more people took advantage of it. What city ate you in?

  2. Jennifer June 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Good luck with all the chem work! I secretly miss being in school..NERD! 🙂
    I, too, wish there were places to hike here. I love walking but sometimes get bored at the never changing scenery….
    I would love for you to share more tofu recipes if you’ve got some!

    • weightsandmeasures June 12, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      I am really stoked to be back in school. The condensed summer course was a difficult way to reenter after 4 years. I’m just having to work hard. Nothing wrong with that!

  3. Christina June 13, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I am supposed to inform you that it is Iron Jes, not Iron Jesse…ha!! =)

Leave a Reply

