Step-by-step Overnight Oats

13 Jun

Hey that’s not oatmeal… nah, that is supper the other night. Leftover tofu, roasted sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, corn, and peas. I love colorful food.  I could not finish this plate though, even though it was a medium sized plate. Too full of yumminess…

I promised that I would give you guys a step-by-step procedure for overnight oats.  It took me a while to figure out what people were talking about when I first began reading about overnight oats. I have gone through much trial and error to find my base overnight oats combo, off which I build and modify.

It always starts with a counter-ful of ingredients. I like to get the all out at one time, because I can guarantee that I will forget to add  something if it is not right in front of me. You can make overnight oats days ahead and leave them in the fridge until you need them, but I always seem to wait until I am good and tired and already dressed for bed before I mix mine up.

There is a lot of wiggle room in this process.  BUT there are a few things that I ALWAYS put in my overnight oats: rolled oats, almond milk, unsweetened shredded coconut, flax and/or chia seeds, and pure vanilla extract.

Everything else changes… literally, everything.

I have put my oats in many various containers.  The only requirement is that it should hold about 2 cups and should have a lid.  Right now I am using an empty peanut butter jar that I just wash and reuse.

You will need some measuring spoons and a measuring cup.  I use a tablespoon, 1/4 teaspoon, and a 1 cup with various other measurements on the side.

First add 1/4-1/3 c raw rolled oats. 1/4 if you will be adding oat bran also, which makes it a bit creamier, and buckwheat groats, which add crunch. 1/3 c if you are just doing rolled oats.

Next, I add 2 T oat bran.

1 T raw buckwheat groats, which become chewy when they soak in the liquid.  (Not kasha, which is toasted buckwheat)

1 T chia seeds… I can not say enough about chia seeds.  If you have never heard of them (other than on the infomercials) google them or follow my link here or here.  They are incredible and I notice and enormous difference in my digestion and how long I stay full.

If you leave out the chia seeds, you can reduce your liquid by 1/2-1/3 depending on your desired consistency.

These are my three favorite kitchen appliances.  I use the coffee seed/nut grinder daily and the personal smoothie blender almost daily. The food processor is a new addition and is fitting right in with the rest of the appliance family.

1/2-1 T ground flax seed

Flax seed must be ground to be fully processed by the body.  It adds an almost nutty flavor.  If you do not use chia seeds, I would use an entire T of ground flax.

1-2 T of unsweetened shredded coconut

1/4 t cinnamon

1/4 t pure vanilla extract

1/2 c water

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk (or any other kind of milk)

You can do 1 c milk, and leave out the water for a richer, creamier taste.

Stir.

It is ready to go into the fridge!

The oats in the picture have 2 T pumpkin puree, giving it an orange tint. (I am all about veggies for breakfast!)

Some other things which could be added at night are raw chopped nuts, berries, 1/2 sliced banana (they do not discolor when in the liquid), dried fruit.

You could also do 1/2 greek yogurt +1/2 c milk for more protein, instead of the 1 c liquid.

In the morning, I almost always add 1/2 sliced banana. I may add a bit of granola for crunch, or a scoop of pb, or some additional coconut, or fruit spread.

In the morning, when you take it from the fridge you may need to add a splash of milk to loosen it up.  You can eat it cold, let it sit on the counter for about 10 minutes, or put it in something that can be microwaved and eat it warm.

And that my friends is how to make overnight oats.

All of the ingredients I put in my oats come from Sprouts, except the buckwheat groats, which come from Whole Foods. Whole Foods does not have the flax or chia seeds in bulk like Sprouts does. Chia seeds are not cheap, but a tablespoon a day will go a long way.

I hope that has made things more clear! Let me know if you have any questions or have any ideas of other mix ins!

I have to go to sleep now… I have been up since 4:45 for Body Pump and plan to visit a spin class tomorrow at 5:30am. I have a test in lab tomorrow morning and a test in lecture on Wednesday. Lots of homework to do too… I am really looking forward to this class being over in 2.5 weeks!

 

 

 

One Response to “Step-by-step Overnight Oats”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kalachandji’s for Dinner « weightsandmeasures - August 27, 2011

    […] Overnight oats with half a banana and a couple small sliced strawberries with coconut cream on top. I also had a decaf coffee with soy milk. […]

Leave a Reply

