A Look Back at the First 25

18 Jun

I have a lot of things on my mind right now and few on my plate… because I’m a walking Periodic Table, when I would rather be a walking Recipe Book.

Cooking… now that is my kind of chemistry.

While I am ready for that class to be a letter (ideally an A) on my transcript, there is something else rather important happening in only 7 days.

In 7 days I will live my first day of my 26th year of life (on June 26th).

I can think of a couple reasons why I should be a bit hesitant about turning older, but frankly my outlook for my twenty-sixth year is more than optimistic.

Twenty-five was an incredible year in my life.

I think the year can be summed up in two words: change and try

When I was twenty-five:

I traveled Europe for 3 weeks with Christina, Rebecca, and Jesse,eating sausage, gelato, and Nutella to my heart’s content.

I moved to Nebraska, spontaneously, when I was only supposed to be there for a 4 day visit.  I ended up living there for 5 months and cared for my grandparents in rural town.

I read my first food blog and my first fitness blog.

I began eating plant-based.

I ran my first mile on February 7th.

I ran my first 10k (6.1 mi) on February 28th.

I watched God provide for me financially as I followed His will, to Nebraska and Michigan, and did not work an actual paying for for 9 months.

I bought a bicycle and fell head-over-heels (literally) with riding it.

I lost 50 lbs.

I gained confidence in who I am and what I am capable of, in light of who God is and what He is capable of doing in and through me.

I left behind many unhealthy habits… and some unhealthy relationships too.

I became closer to my sisters.

I learned how to be a better friend.

I stopped hating the girl in the mirror. (I genuinely like this picture.  That never happened before.)

I learned to appreciate my body more, not for what it looks like but for what it can do.

I found passion in learning about nutrition and fitness and the deepest desire to help others on their journey.

I visited the Wausa Swedish Smorgasbord in my grandmother’s hometown of childhood. Where I tried pickled herring… eww.

I set goals – spiritual and physical.

I achieved goals.

I saw the World’s Longest Porch Swing.

I began to dream again.

I took walks along streets of red, orange, and yellow foliage as the leaves were blown by autumn winds.

I took more risks.

I lived through my first real winter.

I paid off my car… and totaled it.

I returned to school.

I smiled at strangers and talked to people I do not know more.

I learned to make applesauce, apple butter, and berry pudding from my 80 year old grandmother.

I spent more time with family.

I went to bed earlier and woke up earlier.

I learned about love.

I learned the beauty of a morning workout.

I have learned that I am completely, wholly, utterly dependent on a God who is completely, wholly, and utterly capable of doing any and all things and desires above all to know me and to be know by me.

I began WeightsandMeasures. I have always loved writing.  I have dozens of journals to prove it… mostly leather bound, as that, to me, is the perfect place to put my thoughts, my hopes, my dreams, my fears, and, at time, my tears.

Yes, this year has been great.

And if twenty-five was this incredible… I can not imagine what is in store for twenty-six.

5 Responses to “A Look Back at the First 25”

  1. Lisa June 18, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I am so proud of you. What an inspiration you are! I will pray for you during your 26th year.

  2. Christina June 18, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    This blog is incredible. What a great year…and the BEST IS YET TO COME!! I am so excited to see where this journey takes you!! I love you so much!

  3. Rachel June 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Great post. Great reflections. Happy birthday! You are an inspiration.

  4. Rachel June 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    You did have a great year. I’ve gotten great enjoyment just by watching your life over the past year! You’ve also inspired and challenged me greatly. I think even Jer is getting in on the challenged part…he asked for wheat bread on his sandwich today! Don’t tell him I told you that, though.

    • weightsandmeasures June 27, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      Thank you so much Rachel! I am so blessed to call you friend. I love getting to spend so much time with your family. i was always so impressed with how healthily you fed Katelyn, before I ever considered changing myself. You have definitely influenced me as well! And, I would not dare mention it to Jer!

Leave a Reply

