A Man of Character

19 Jun

My dad…

James Richard Kracht

Married 34 years (on July 1).

Father of 4 daughters.

Grandpa of 1.

Words could not adequately describe the man that is my father.

I’ll try though…

My Dad is a man of character.

He is the hardest working man that I know.

Brilliant. Inquisitive. Engaging. Kind hearted.

My Dad has never met a stranger.

“Hi, this is Jim Kracht”… that is what you will hear when he calls anyone on the phone, whether he knows them or not, because he is that personable.

I have such fond memories of playing volleyball in the front yard, or even in the house, as he helped with learning to control a bump.

We will never know the number of softballs that went down the gutter from playing catch in the street.

My Dad is a man of prayer. He’ll pray for you. He’ll pray with you.

He is a man of faith. He believes confidently in the healing power of our God and His unending faithfulness to provide for our needs.

My Dad has rescued me countless times when I had a broken down car, flat tire, or accident.  He has washed my car, aired up the tires, filled it up with gas, and changed the oil.

He is an honest man.  Even when he sold cars or insurance, integrity was more important to him than making a sale. He is one of the good guys.

He’s funny.  I, like him, end up coughing if I laugh too hard.

I have his chin. (I like that.)

I have his last name.  I like that too.  It will be difficult for me to give up my last name one day. I know it seems like I should be relieved, but I like my last name.  It is strong and unique, like my Dad. (Kracht, it rhymes with soft.)

He is a reader and researcher. If you ask a question, he’ll likely know the answer.  If he doesn’t, he will find out the answer.

He says, “huh” when he reads something interesting and you can bet that he is about to read it to you.  He likes to share.

His favorite food is corn-on-th-cob with butter, salt, and lots of black pepper.

My Dad is an incredible man. I am blessed to be “Jim’s number 3”.

Happy Father’s Day Dad!

I love you!

4 Responses to “A Man of Character”

  1. Christina June 19, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Silly…they will have been married for 34 years on July 1…just a few years off by one day!!

    But, such an incredible tribute to an amazing man. We are so very fortunate that he was given to us as our father.

  2. Jim Kracht June 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Thank You baby that was nice. I am honored to be your dad.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrapping Up the Weekend… Late Edition « weightsandmeasures - June 21, 2011

    […] weightsandmeasures where food and fitness collide HomeLittle About MeRaces ← A Man of Character […]

Leave a Reply

